Open Topic #sbbuzz Chat: Summary from March 23, 2010

This week’s @sbbuzz chat was an open topic discussion for small businesses. Topics include Social Media, Time Management, Community Support and more.

  • We’re on every Tuesday from 8-9 pm EST.  The next chat will be held on March 30, 2010.
  • You can read the instructions on how to participate here: http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
  • Invite others to join in, help them get started.  We started this chat to facilitate conversation between small biz owners.
sbbuzz: Rules: 1)NO pitching till end 2)Be nice 3)Stay ON TOPIC! 4)Send ?s for group to me w/o hashtag 5)Use #sbbuzz in all messages 6)Have fun!
sbbuzz: Start off w/an INTRO: 1 message about you and your business and whatever else we need to know. #sbbuzz
krystyna81: I’m a Fine Artist w/ a shop on #Etsy. I’m currently trying to branch out in my paid on-line advertising with mixed results. HELLO! #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Hi, I’m Michelle with @batchblue. We make software for small businesses. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: Designing Success ~ cheers to all #sbbuzz
pmohara: Pamela here from @batchblue and hostess of the #sbbuzz chat. Nice to see you all!
lindadessau: Hi all, Linda here from You Talk, I’ll Write – helping coaches create content for blogs, newsletters and social media (intro for #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: I help small business owners on a shoestring budget who want to address tomorrow?s technology needs today with free online biz tools #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Tonight is an open chat – send me any questions you want discussed with the group #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: participating in the #sbbuzz check out some of the previous guests https://sbbuzz.wordpress.com/guests/
bradfordshimp: Does that make this a free range Twitter chat? #sbbuzz
KitBook: Hi everyone, David here. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: @bradfordshimp We’ll still do the Q/A format, just no set topic or agenda #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q1 How are you using social media to create new business opportunities? #sbbuzz
cjservia: #sbbuzz Lighthouse Continuity Partners consulting providing business protection services.
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q1 Just today, someone reached out on Twitter about exploring integration. Still think networking opps are great. #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: A1 I teach small biz how to get started w/Twitter so use other social media platforms to find my target audience #sbbuzz
cjservia: #sbbuzz I’ve used it to hold a contest for “Fans” to build interest in my business and share ways people can protect themselves in crisis.
lindadessau: Q1 One way I use SM for biz growth is networking with like-minded colleagues so I am top of mind when referral opportunities occur. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q1 Awareness, attracting site visits #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: A1 I also want to join a local master mind group. I am using it to help with find them in my area #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @lindadessau Q1. I have met an amazing team member for a new start up ~ and collaborated #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @sbbuzz Q1 I use chats like this one, other social communities such as #3T and groups on FB and LinkedIn to network. #sbbuzz
pmohara: #sbbuzz Q1 Agreed networking on Twitter & LinkedIn helps stay in touch with so many people when they are frequently in your stream
RisingStarIdeas: @selahsynergy #3T is a new one for me, what is it exactly? #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @selahsynergy One can learn so much (agree) from the networking with many diverse people in many different spaces #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q2 from @jonedm What is the small biz consensus on the economy? Anyone seeing an uptick in their biz? #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @sbbuzz I’m seeing more start ups & solo-entrepreneurs that need mentoring ~ GOOD sign I think, how about U? #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @CASUDI It’s Third Tribe, a new community of bloggers and small biz using blogs & SM. http://thirdtribemarketing.com #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q2 It’s hard to tell – people come to us often when they are starting things after other things didn’t work out. Good & bad? #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @selahsynergy I’ve seen third tribe mentioned but did not know ~ how large is it? #sbbuzz
mriggen: @selahsynergy Ooo, let’s talk about Third Tribe 🙂 @sbbuzz maybe that can be a question? Are people doing it? Is it useful? #sbbuzz
pmohara: We’re having a good year, but I am still hearing from folks that are struggling. Would like to do more to help. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @mriggen Thanks for asking, wondering the same myself. #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: .@mriggen I’m also in Third Tribe. The networking is great, and the materials are outstanding at stretching your biz thinking #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q3 What can small businesses do to support each other? Esp communities like this one – any additional resources/ideas? #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @CASUDI @mriggen Not sure how big it is but so far the classes & people r terrific – I see promise if I stay accountable. #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: @selahsynergy yes I did, thanks I am checking it out now. #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Q3 I would love to see more small biz cooperate to promote each other, create packages of their services together. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q3 – I think we could do a better job of banding together and providing referrals for one another. A good system would be useful. #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q3 Good question – are case studies/white papers useful? Finding out what others are doing? In-person meetups? #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: A3 maybe spin off to small groups, create a mastermind group #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @sbbuzz Q3 It helps to remind each other that there is still money being spent & innovation doesn’t stop in a recession 🙂 #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @selahsynergy will look further later~ Third tribe ~seems like there are quite a few helpful niche areas waiting to be discovered #sbbuzz
pmohara: @BeckyMcCray Awesome idea! Like the small business web, but w/o APIs #sbbuzz
carole_hicks: @BeckyMcCray I have several small biz clients now that are STARTING to do that with my prompting..excited 2 C it blossoming! #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @RisingStarIdeas Great idea! I could not survive w/o my mastermind team. #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: A3 this forum is great for me because I always learn something new. #sbbuzz
cjservia: #sbbuzz Q3 I’ve tried swapping services as a startup tactic. I help another business as they help me.
BeckyMcCray: .@RisingStarIdeas has an excellent point: get together with other small biz people. Learn and grow! #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: @selahsynergy good point! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q3 I have toyed with the idea of packaging services on my blog – haven’t moved on it yet. Think it has potential. #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @pmohara Exactly. “Small business web but without APIs”. Great phrasing! #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @mriggen A3 Always helpful to see what others are doing, whether U agree or not 🙂 get togther & learn #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q3 We love hanging out/partnering with/learning from other web app builders. It’s how thesmallbusinessweb.com was formed. #sbbuzz
KitBook: @bradfordshimp What do you mean by ‘packaging services’? #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: Q3 I would be happy to help anyone who wants to start/join a mastermind. I have been involved w/MMT’s for 10 years -love them! #sbbuzz
kikscore: Q3: Have small businesses use their blogs to A) promote other smallbiz & B) give the community lessons learned from those biz. #sbbuzz
mriggen: @BeckyMcCray @pmohara Embrace the API! Unless, I guess, you are a liquor store 🙂 #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @KitBook I mean offering multiple services from multiple providers, but at one check out (does that make sense?) #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp like an AP store for small biz? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @selahsynergy Sounds like a great offer. Would love to start or get involved with one, but I’m no good at asking. #sbbuzz
KitBook: @bradfordshimp Yes, thanks. It does sound like a good idea. Sort of a cafeteria plan. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @CASUDI I suppose, in a way. Kind of a library of services, all vetted and trusted. #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: @selahsynergy is your group local? I am struggling to find one that has a focus on results #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @cjservia Swapping is a great idea, especially now. A colleague is swapping design skills with a biz coach (not me) & both benefit #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: catching up here – Q4 from @mriggen Are people using Third Tribe? Is it useful? #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @bradfordshimp I like the way you are thinking about that. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @bradfordshimp I think everyone wins – easier for the clients, and the small biz providers share the prospecting tasks #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @sbbuzz At the risk of repeating myself, I’ve found third tribe valuable for networking and for the quality materials included. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @BeckyMcCray Thinking is what I’m good at ;-). Need a little help in the implementation department, though. #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @bradfordshimp PM me and we’ll see what u need. @RisingStarIdeas We are a virtual groups #sbbuzz
pmohara: @selahsynergy what is a mastermind?#sbbuzz
CASUDI: @BeckyMcCray Do U think Third Tribe would be good for new ( but hi-profile) blogger ? #sbbuzz
mriggen: @BeckyMcCray What SORT of materials? Candy?? #sbbuzz
Chris_Hendricks: @mriggen Are people using Third Tribe Is it useful? I have heard Third Tribe is worth the membership monthly fee-thinking about it 2 #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @bradfordshimp I guess that’s where the mastermind group would come in, right? #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @pmohara It is a small group of accountability partners focused upon mutual success of the members #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @CASUDI It would depend what that blogger’s goals are. If they are looking to make money and build a business, yes. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @lindadessau Probably! #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Will groups like Third Tribe become the new biz magazines? We paid for those on a monthly basis. V2 of biz advice – social? #sbbuzz
cjservia: #sbbuzz @selahsynergy Yes. I’m working with a marketing company and helping them with disaster planning and SM martketing.
selahsynergy: @sbbuzz 3rdTribe is like any other community (ie #sbbuzz) – u get out of it what you put into it. I am still trying to give my best #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @mriggen They do calls/interviews, with excellent transcripts and worksheets. I think the worksheets are outstanding. #sbbuzz
Chris_Hendricks: Mastermind Groups are participants that raise the bar by challenging each other to brainstorm ideas, create & implement goals… #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @BeckyMcCray I agree. The worksheets are very helpful so far. I have to work harder at the forums and make it a priority to check in #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @BeckyMcCray Worksheets sound great – personally, I need a way to integrate and implement – too much info on its own doesn’t help me #sbbuzz
pmohara: Wow – learning about so many new resources tonight. Amazing how vast are the possibilities…#sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @lindadessau That was what I liked about the worksheets: direct questions and room for answers. Take time to think about your biz! #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @pmohara So true! Give small businesses the right tools and info and their genius will take over! #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q6 from @beckymccray How do you deal with overload (managing time, priorities, etc.) #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Q6 I sent that in because it seems to be one question that drives most people crazy! What techniques work for you? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q6 – It all comes to boiling things down to the smallest possible focus. Hard to do, but it can make a big difference. #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: @sbbuzz Q6 The silence you hear is the sound of all of us overwhelmed entrepreneurs…Lots of methods but no winner yet #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: A6 dealing overload & time. Write my todo list then decide on three things. The top 3 that MUST be done the others stay on the list #sbbuzz
cjservia: #sbbuzz Q6 I find overload hard to overcome. I’ve taken Franklin/Covey traiining and still find the overload of information hard to digest.
bradfordshimp: That being said, I run out of time every day. Obviously need to boil some more! #sbbuzz
Chris_Hendricks: @sbbuzz @beckymccray Overloaded? 1st clear your mind by taking a walk, riding bike,or sitting in a quiet place with a cup of hot tea #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: But that is one reason it is some important to build good teams. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @sbbuzz Q6: PLAN, ORGANIZE, work smart & limit Number + time on twitter chats (sleep less) 🙂 #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q6 I’m easily overwhelmed. It helps to take a breather, check in about what’s right in front of me and let go of the rest (not easy) #sbbuzz
cjservia: #sbbuzz Q6 One technique I’ve begun using is a consolidated web util that pulls all my SM sites together. One update goes to all SM sites.
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q6 I slice & dice. What I’m doing depends on what time of day it is. Or even what day of the week. Doesn’t always work 🙂 #sbbuzz
KitBook: @bradfordshimp I agree. Prioritization and focus. Interruptions (like twitter and e-mail) can kill if you let them. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Since we are running out of time, I am sneaking an unofficial Q. Any ideas on finding talent on Twitter. Looking to hire 4 sales. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @CASUDI Yeah, that’s going to have to be my tactic today (sleep less 😉 #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: @bradfordshimp agreed! Remember be in business for yourself but not by your self It its hard to delegate that takes time too #sbbuzz
pmohara: @lindadessau Yes, I think letting go of some things is key. Know what is important & don’t fret the rest #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @lindadessau Q6: Part of Plan is plan time 4 yourself ~ sometimes I cook, a great diversion from overload #sbbuzz
KitBook: @bradfordshimp Have you tried a google search on twitter bio’s and titles for sales animals? #sbbuzz
mriggen: @bradfordshimp Our friends @surveygizmo have awesome idea. Do a survey-type job application to get to know folks better… #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Making it official Q7 RT @bradfordshimp: Any ideas on finding talent on Twitter. Looking to hire 4 sales. #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @bradfordshimp 1. Always be looking. 2. Ask for referrals, not just “looking to hire”. 3. Connect with HR recruiting types for ideas #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @pmohara Yeah, at the #wtlead training I was at last week we talked about dividing things into hell no, hell yes and maybe piles #sbbuzz
mriggen: @bradfordshimp …sample question “Do you kick ass?” with text field. Obviously, you could tailor questions for what you need 🙂 #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp start a convo(s) about what makes 4 good sales (sales person), how to sell best in down economy + other Q etc, #sbbuzz
Chris_Hendricks: Prioritize (what will bring in the cash) than delegate what your not fond of doing. #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: @bradfordshimp I know you said Twitter but have you tried LinkedIn? #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Sorry – just 1 minute left for Pitch TIme. Tell us about yourself – and TYPE FAST! #sbbuzz
KitBook: @CASUDI Great idea on starting conversations related to needs without opening the flood gates yet. Will get a more honest appraisal #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @CASUDI Nice, yes. And doing the dishes always gets my creative mojo going – it’s that flowing water… #sbbuzz
selahsynergy: Thanks all! Looking for guest bloggers for new series starting in April – any topic on theme of “One Hour 4 your Small Biz” #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: My biz, http://broadrivercreative.com designs websites around quality content. Websites that work for small business. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Thanks everyone for the great answers to my Q. Will be spending some time going over them! #sbbuzz
RisingStarIdeas: Find cool free online tools to guaranted to save time & money I do the work so you don’t have to! free tools, ideas, tips & reviews #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Fast pitch: sign up for our social media for tourism newsletter at http://tourismcurrents.com 🙂 #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz I’m Michelle with @batchblue software. Here is one of our beloved customers! http://bit.ly/aMkChm #sbbuzz
lindadessau: I’m taking a stand for the quality of your content: http://sn.im/content-creation-manifesto (Pitch time on #sbbuzz)
KitBook: KitBooks are award winning hands-on educational products for the K-12 science classroom, home, and homeschool http://www.kitbook.com #sbbuzz
CASUDI: PITCH : About me http://bit.ly/9GmHUV & what I am interested in this week ~ leadership http://bit.ly/aI9qnV #sbbuzz
pmohara: Pamela here from @batchblue – social CRM for small biz and the host of #sbbuzz chat
sbbuzz: Thanks to everyone for all the great discussion! We’ll get the #sbbuzz summary posted on the site soon at http://sbbuzz.biz
CASUDI: @KitBook I found a CEO that way ~ incl. great convo about running a company #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: If you’d like a once-a-week e-mail reminder of #sbbuzz (including the topic) sign up at http://sbbuzz.net #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: #sbbuzz is a small business Twitter chat hosted each Tuesday night by the folks from @batchblue Come again soon!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

