Small Business, Management and Technology: Summary from December 15, 2009

We all have systems for managing our business communications, contacts and workflow.  This week’s @sbbuzz chat focused on technology and how small businesses use it to manage things a little better or easier.

Happy Holidays everyone from the @sbbuzz team!

  • We’re on every Tuesday from 8-9 pm EST.  The next chat will be held on December 22h, 2009!
  • You can read the instructions on how to participate here: http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
  • Invite others to join in, help them get started.  We started this chat to facilitate conversation between small biz owners.
sbbuzz: Welcome to #sbbuzz, a Tweetchat for the next hour of small biz talking technology on Twitter. Join us! http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
sbbuzz: Rules: 1)NO pitching till end 2)Be nice 3)Stay ON TOPIC! 4)Send ?s for group to me w/o hashtag 5)Use #sbbuzz in all messages 6)Have fun!
sbbuzz: Start off w/an INTRO: 1 message about you and your business and whatever else we need to know. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Hi everyone, Bradford here from AllBizAnswers.com. #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: I play music, a lot of weddings, and I am co-founder of web dev/media company, @m2volt. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Hi all, Scott from eSeMBe. I’m ready to talk tech tonight! #sbbuzz
ginabee: Good evening, all! Gina with WriteyTidy.com writing services/content creation. Glad to be back. #sbbuzz
pmohara: Pamela here from @batchblue and the moderator (as the #sbbuzz bee) for the chat. Don’t laugh if I start repeating myself. 🙂
sbbuzz: @scoblitz I thought we’d get you jazzed with this topic. Hope you’ve got some nimble fingers! #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Tonight we’re talking about ways of connecting your different small business technologies to make them more useful #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz I’m ready! #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q1 What are you doing on your blog/website to connect to other systems (social media, e-mail marketing, etc.) & how? #sbbuzz
shashib: Hi everyone participating in #sbbuzz hope your week is going well
bradfordshimp: Q1 – Plugins like Tweetmeme and services like Feedburner help connect my blog with other services. #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q1: We’re about to switch out site to connect to all the social network out there. Redesign it to fit our new marketing for 2010 #sbbuzz
Squashberry: #sbbuzz
shashib: I am the Social Media Swami of Network Solutions @netsolcares #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: Also going on tonight, “ways of connecting your different small business technologies to make them more useful” #sbbuzz #sbbuzz
shashib: #sbbuzz Q1 What are you doing on your blog/website to connect to other systems ?
Squashberry: #sbbuzz, I am a cofunder in an advertising company
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q1) I link to my twitter profile and capture email addresses for a newsletter. On my personal blog I have a twitter page. #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: There are so many “To-Dos” but in my mind “To-Dont’s” are as critical to keeping readers. No autotweet, no auto responders, etc. #sbbuzz
IACEZ: Q1 We have FB, Twitter, Youtube, Flickr & Slideshare in the sidebar of our blog & our blog posts automatically post 2 Twitter & FB. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: I help business owners become empowered through technology #sbbuzz
Laurimufson: #sbbuzz /via @sbbuzz Is it always good idea to connect with your Twitter acct on your website?
adriarichards: Q1 Streamling my lead process using Highrise and Google Apps, centralizing images on Flickr, videos on YouTube and blip.tv #sbbuzz
DeeMcCrorey: Greetings! I am the Chief Risk Guru of Risktaking for Success #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: I agree with @bradfordshimp for the useful ones, Tweetmeme and feedburner. Don’t Forget Email Newsletter/Tips like @mailchimp #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @shanemacsays I agree, I don’t do any auto-tweets. If I post it, it comes direct from me. #sbbuzz
pmohara: My favorite WordPress plugin is the Flickr display. I think the pictures add a lot of life to the blog/ #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: I push my blog to Twitter, but don’t include my Twitter feed on my blog. #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: A1: blog/website has our social media links/twitter feed. allows ppl to share our website content on social media networks #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: @Laurimufson I find if you speak directly in your tweets and not autofeed from rss usually higher CTR. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @pmohara I always wanted to do that but I never take any pictures of anything. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @scoblitz I do send some auto-tweets. When I share something on Google Reader, it goes to FriendFeed and Twitter. #sbbuzz
AmyDesmarais: @IACEZ how do u like slideshare? Havent played with it but read an article about it’s biz utility today #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: @bradfordshimp @scoblitz There is value is auto sharing useful articles but when automated its easy to forget and over share #sbbuzz
pmohara: @scoblitz I bet if you publish them you’ll take more. I think a frequently updated Flickr stream reveals a lot about a business #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: @AmyDesmarais I love slideshare.. think its one of the most awesome tool out there! #sbbuzz
IACEZ: @AmyDesmarais Love it! We use it to make tutorials of common processes our clients may need help with in our application. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q2 What are you doing w/e-mail to connect to other systems (social media, CRM, etc.) & how? #sbbuzz
adriarichards: The most useful tool on my blog? Contact form is an embedded Google form so all inquiries go right into an online spreadsheet #sbbuzz
ImagineGraphics: A1: Labor intensive personalized cross pollination is my strategy. Automatic cross posting loses the authentic ‘voice’ & annoys. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q2 – Using Mailchimp which connects to Twitter and Batchbook (also Highrise). Contacts move through easily. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @pmohara For WordPress Tweet Blender lets you filter @replies from what you display on your blog. Very nice. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Collect on CRM, send to email list, publish to Twitter. #sbbuzz
ImagineGraphics: A2: email newsletter with frequent links to FB pg and blog. And BTW, I love MyEmma e-mailing provider. #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: Q2 always include links to social media in email signature-use wise stamp or a similar product #sbbuzz
pmohara: I use Gmail & have it synced to my CRM (BatchBook, of course) and my Blackberry #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz I use email to populate both CRM and To-Do list. I love being able to convert emails to other formats easily. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q2 plan workflow on paper, define functionality, identify tools to save time or centralize data, test it #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q2: @BizIncubation I find many ppl follow or view my social network link in my email signature. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q2 Rememberthemilk can turn starred email onto tasks #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: @helpbusinesses A lot of times ppl don’t realize that you are on the social media sites. its a nice gentle reminder. #sbbuzz
ImagineGraphics: Not sure how many people follow us on multiple platforms but I try to post content in slightly different ways to not bore. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q2: I also connect Twitter to other apps – I can add to-dos, appointments and set timers all through Twitter. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q2 I forward or bcc lead emails to @37signals Highrise app #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: @pmohara I haven’t had any issues with wise stamp yet.. unfortunately it doesn’t work in google chrome only with firefox #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q2 I manage support requests with @zendesk via email #sbbuzz
leoraw: Coming in late…installed Sexy Bookmarks WP plugin and it’s great for easily sharing a post. #sbbuzz
DeeMcCrorey: A1: #sbbuzz Use FB, Twitter (blog/vlog/website), YouTube, Flickr. Figuring out how to add our new virtual learning site to the mix.
shanemacsays: @adriarichards Heard about @zendesk a while back… Might check out again. thanks. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q2 I manage projects on @activeCollab and Basecamp via email #sbbuzz
pmohara: @BizIncubation other problem is I have several identities – @pmohara @batchblue@sbbuzz so I just point to URLs (dont pull feeds) #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @adriarichards I love Zendesk, especially now that I can view ticket history in my CRM #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q3 What are you doing w/your mobile phone to connect to other systems and how?#sbbuzz
leoraw: @ImagineGraphics also post differently on varied platforms. Audiences + expectations vary. Easier to discuss on FB but fewer ppl #sbbuzz
adriarichards: @shanemacsays They’re releasing new features all the time. @Twitter uses @Zendesk athttp://help.twitter.com #sbbuzz
jescarter: Q3: Sending emails, docs and clips to @evernote; a great way to keep track of miscellaneous stuff. #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q2 Use my phone to post to Posterous and then auto post that to other outlets #sbbuzz
AmyDesmarais: @BizIncubation in additions to creating presentations – do u find slideshare drives traffic #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: Q3 I have sm apps on my mytouch.. it’s the best thing I could have done.. i take a pic, put it on facebook, twit pic+flickr #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q3 – I sync BlackBerry w/gmail. I also use Tiny Twitter to access Twitter. I need to find more BBerry apps, but who has time? #sbbuzz
ImagineGraphics: A3 hard to post content when I’m away from the office, so I just use mobile phone to listen to others (FB & Twitter) periodically. #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: Q3 if i go to a conference, i blog about it there and then and tweet all via my phone! #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: @AmyDesmarais absolutely.. it helps me explain my expertise, share my knowledge. I do get hits from slideshare back to my website #sbbuzz
DeeMcCrorey: Q2 #sbbuzz I use Google docs and wikis for collaboration / managing projects with dispersed teams.
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q3: Goosync keeps my Gcal and Google contacts up to date with my mobile. #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: Mobile is so broad and so many apps for everything. Im going to just say, iPhone. Works great. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q3 Arrived late & catching up. I don’t have a smartphone yet but I’m saving for an iPhone – I do have TweetDeck on my iPod, though. #sbbuzz
pmohara: I also have my CRM system as a contact in BBerry, so I can copy all messages into it. #sbbuzz
mercutiom: Q3 – I upload photos to Flickr tagged with my URL, tweet a ton, and check-in with Foursquare and connect to others #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q3 Google Apps for domain email on your iPhone, Blackberry, Android a must have #sbbuzz http://google.com/a
AmyDesmarais: Q3 I’m on tweet deck mobile right now! En route to a soccer game (don’t worry not driving) mobile is key when rushing around #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @pmohara I love Tiny Twitter – I do post pics from my phone with it to Twitpic. #sbbuzz
mercutiom: Q3 – cont’d, I also have email and GCal synced to keep me on task throughout the day. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz I think it’s so cool that our data is so transportable – can use almost anywhere and keep in sync. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: I track my billable time on the iPhone with @harvest #sbbuzz http://getharvest.com
pmohara: @scoblitz @adarowski once told me to learn to do that (instead of e-mailing him pics to post on our site). One day I will… #sbbuzz
IACEZ: Q4 Contractors are naturally self-driven people- that’s why they’re contractors. #sbbuzz
DeeMcCrorey: A3 #sbbuzz: I blog and tweet using phone…great for event coverage. But interested in other tools folks are using (lots of gr8 ideas here!)
adriarichards: There is an iPhone app for Highrise CRM called Top floor #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q4 What else are you duct taping together? Browser plugins, Google gadgets, what makes your life easier? #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q4 What else are you duct taping together? Browser plugins, Google gadgets, what makes your life easier? #sbbuzz
adriarichards: I use @getclicky to monitor blog traffic in real time and there’s a great mobolie interface #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Twitter DM’s go to iPhone with “push” technology #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Skype mobile for phones #sbbuzz
BizIncubation: Q4 browser plugins like wise stamp, website analytics like google analytics, word press plugins like twitter feed… #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Calendar for iPhone syncscwithbGoogle calendar #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q4 I’m hooked on browser bookmarklets that let me capture, file, and blog what I find online really quickly and easily. #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: Using twitter to communicate more and more I use Tweetie 2 for iphone all the time. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Use @Timebridge to schedule appointments with folks. iPhone app also available #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q4 I use @TimeDriver for scheduling, and it links with my Google Calendar to see when I’m busy and free. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Use Flickit to post photos directly to Flickr #sbbuzz
leoraw: A4 A fan of Google Alerts – plug something in, and then read news on that topic later. Currently have “Small Biz” as alert #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q4 We’ve (and by that I mean the tech team) have set up greasemonkey add-ons for firefox to grab/link data in dif sites #sbbuzz
adriarichards: If you use Tweetmeme on your blog or website, it will auto generate short urls for mobile folks #sbbuzz
pmohara: I have anything with an RSS feed (BatchBook feeds, blogs, forums) go to Google Reader for quicker reads. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: And now it is what we affectionately call Pitch Time. Please tell us a little about your business. #sbbuzz
merylevans: I prefer to get my reads in email or in Twitter. I never look at Google reader or anything like that anymore. #sbbuzz
IACEZ: @AmyDesmarais You can find a couple here: http://www.slideshare.net/iacez 🙂 #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: We build websites and work to tell people about it! Some call it Social Media, we call it communication. http://www.m2volt.com #sbbuzz
merylevans: Aw, a little late for conversation. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: That went fast (b/c I was late)! Pitch: Create free advertising that brands you as an expert in your niche http://snipr.com/t1pw5 #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Pimping out my blog in 2010. Giving away some free ads to build momentum. Check it out at http://bit.ly/7quy7d. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Don’t forget #sbbuzz! If you’d like a once-a-week e-mail reminder of #sbbuzz chats sign up at http://sbbuzz.net #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Pitch: eSeMBe helps you make sense of and use all the neat techie stuff that got discussed tonight! http://esembe.com #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: I provide advice for small business owners on All Biz Answers and am co-building a collaborative biz community at Idea Anglers #sbbuzz
leoraw: If any of you are Facebook users, would love to have you join my FB page for Websites for Small Biz http://bit.ly/5L9vS5 #sbbuzz
pmohara: Pamela here from @batchblue small business CRM. We stir up great #sbbuzz conversations and organize the new connections in BatchBook.
sbbuzz: Thanks to everyone for another great discussion! We’ll get the #sbbuzz summary posted on the site soon at http://sbbuzz.biz
BizIncubation: Pitch: Co founder of a new media consulting firm-work with businesses & nonprofits to help them realize the power of social media. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Pitch: I also run a music / photo blog at http://sensorydispensary.com – I’m currently reviewing my albums in haiku. #sbbuzz
shashib: #sbbuzz great conversation favorited tips Pitch : enter this fun #nsbiztip contesthttp://bit.ly/5ktq3Z by giving your own tip
shanemacsays: I’m also a wedding singer/entertainer playing shows all over the country. http://www.mac-live.com/weddings #sbbuzz
merylevans: Will there be a chat next week or holiday break? #sbbuzz
ginabee: Pitch: WriteyTidy turns out tidy text! Words I can do…Thank goodness I’ve got a tech guy!http://writeytidy.com #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Thanks everyone – I’m traveling next week so happy holidays and I’ll see you in two weeks! #sbbuzz
bigcloudmedia: @sbbuzz. Big Cloud Media provides web services that increase ROI. Web design, development, seo, etc. http://www.bigcloudmedia.com #sbbuzz
IACEZ: Thx for a great chat everyone! Pitch: IAC-EZ is an easy-to-use online accounting SaaS app for small businesses. http://bit.ly/1Thru8 #sbbuzz
3 Comments

Filed under small business, summary, tools

3 responses to “Small Business, Management and Technology: Summary from December 15, 2009

  1. Great Article !
    thanks for sharing!

  2. Lots of of bloggers are not too pleased with the new iPad.There was just too much hoopla about it and alot blogers got turned off.Quite frankly, I can actually see great deal of the awesome potential of the gizmo. Third-party apps for composing tunes, games, papers and magazine and FFS books, all kinds of cool stuff, but IMHO they failed to sell it right (aside from the books). It smells kinda not finished

Leave a Reply

