Summary December 7, 2009: Small biz in 2010

Summary December 7, 2009
Topic: Small business in the coming year, 2010!

Know a small business owner who could use the advice from other small businesses?  Join us!

  • We’re on every Tuesday from 8-9 pm EST.  The next chat will be held on December 15h, 2009!
  • You can read the instructions on how to participate here: http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
  • Invite others to join in, help them get started.  We started this chat to facilitate conversation between small biz owners.
sbbuzz: Q1 What will a successful 2010 look like for you? #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: Hello, Shane here from @m2volt, thinking about already being 2010 is ahhhhh! #sbbuzz
ginabee: @sbbuzz Q1 – Clients! #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Q1 – a successful 2010 will see me better integrating my many lines of consulting and technology business. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q1 A successful 2010 for me would be full of more joy, more rest, more perfect clients and more income. #sbbuzz
spaceflight: RT @sbbuzz: Q1 What will a successful 2010 look like for you? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q1 – Goals include turning my blog into a business and opening up a member community for entrepreneurs helping each other. #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q1 – more clients, more profits, increased efficiency and smooth company performance #sbbuzz
Patrysha: Q1 A successful 2010 will mean more clients and finishing another book or two #sbbuzz
ginabee: Q1- My biz coach has given me an assignment to identify my next goal – pick a client & pursue. Gotta get that process down! #sbbuzz
annaleeblysse: Q1 – Goals include increasing social networking while working on products. #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q1 Hmm, so many things. I’d like to see more resources available in #sbbuzz & the small business web. And more customers not a bad idea 🙂
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q1: 2010 will see a shift towards more business and less consumer. More projects and less hardware. #sbbuzz
Jillfoster: Launching a new service + cultivating new community online & offline @sbbuzz re – Q1 What will a successful 2010 look like for u? #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @Patrysha Q1 I’d also like to create more books/products in 2010! #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q1 – I’ll also add an emphasize on more technology in the workplace, more integrated communication #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q1: I want to do more things to surprise and delight our customers. #sbbuzz
Jillfoster: Some’a this! RT @lindadessau: Q1 A successful 2010 would be full of more joy, more rest, more perfect clients and more income. #sbbuzz
StarSpangledGrl: Just getting back on my feet financially will be a success for me. @sbbuzz re – Q1 What will a successful 2010 look like for u? #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q1 It’s time to step up, step out, and really make things happen. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q1 Success in 2010 will see me tighten my focus on what I’m really good at vs what I can do #sbbuzz
pmohara: @Jillfoster Hi lady! So nice to see you. Grab a blanket and settle in. 🙂 #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @mriggen Sounds fun, I can’t wait! #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q2 What is your Big Hairy Audacious Goal (BHAG) for 2010? #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @adriarichards And how about adding what we LOVE to do!! #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: Q1 More gigs, write book, speek at colleges about careers. #sbbuzz
Chris_Hendricks: RT @sbbuzz: Q1 What will a successful 2010 look like for you? A1 Prosperous in every way… #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @mriggen Might I suggest donut cake for everyone? #sbbuzz
SweetSoaps: #sbbuzz Ellen owner of SweetSoaps handcrafting dreams via soap,using humor to draw u in!
Jillfoster: @scoblitz Good to be here at #sbbuzz (from new #sbbuzzer in DC)
lindadessau: Q2 My Big Hair Audacious Goal (BHAG) for 2010 is to pay myself to take a vacation 🙂 #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q2 – Just one? Well, I’m leaving behind a steady paycheck, so I guess its simply to succeed. #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: q2 BHAG – I think that would be the new book I’m working on with @barrymoltz. #sbbuzz
Patrysha: Q2 If I could get at least one more community running a version of the promotion I developed this summer #sbbuzz
mriggen: @scoblitz Were it that I could!! #sbbuzz
annaleeblysse: Q2 Biggest goal is to make 2010 the year online endeavors reach the level of income that self-employment reality not dream. #sbbuzz
mriggen: @BeckyMcCray Hi Becky – congrads about the book, that’s awesome! #sbbuzz
ginabee: Q2 – Feel like a jill of many trades now (out of necessity) – would be a real BHAG for me to create a tightly focused career path. #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: Q2 To figure out “What’s Next” #sbbuzz
adriarichards: @lindadessau I’m already doing what I love so that’s marked “DONE” #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q2 – Reaching my preferred level of work flow automation. Wouldn’t take rocket science but it’s quite a journey ahead. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @adriarichards Awesome! #sbbuzz
JoeCascio: @BeckyMcCray Howdy Becky.. this can’t be your first time on #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q2 Travel to 3 locations outside the US — Q2 What is your Big Hairy Audacious Goal (BHAG) for 2010? #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q2 I have a goal, but there are many paths to “it” and just what “it” is could take many forms. #sbbuzz
Jillfoster: @pmohara Thx you so much! Great seeing you. It’s great too being with the #sbbuzz mojo finally. Thx for helping us all convene.
pmohara: My BHAG would be triple size of @batchblue & an office space on the boat (so I guess a boat needed, too…) #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @JoeCascio I’ve been to just a few #sbbuzz chats. I was even the guest once!
bradfordshimp: @scoblitz Sounds like my kind of goal. Finding that I just have to bite down on a thing or two and see if it tastes good. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @adriarichards Well, let me know if one of them is Toronto, Canada – we’ll meet for coffee 🙂 #sbbuzz
Patrysha: @lindadessau Cool 🙂 I knew I was going to like this chat #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q2 – whatever the BHAG is, it will take time and money, something not always easily available to the small biz #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q3 What are you going to stop doing in 2010? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @lindadessau Toronto. You’re just on the other side of the lake from me. Too bad about that fast ferry. #sbbuzz
Patrysha: Q3 Stop giving away too much for free and stop wasting time on doubts… #sbbuzz
mriggen: @pmohara Q2 I know a VP of Technology that would +1 for the boat 🙂 #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q3 – What am I going to stop doing in 2010? Great question!! Saying to yes to the wrong things, just for the $ or out of habit. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q3 – Going to stop working at the family business. Also going to stop making excuses and wasting time. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q3 Stop accepting work simply because someone will pay. New Factors: enjoyment, strategy and client fun level #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Q3 I’m cutting down on standalone websites for clients, in favor of more integrated marketing projects. #sbbuzz
Chris_Hendricks: My 3 BHAG is to remodel home, buy a new car, and travel to Norway… #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @bradfordshimp Yeah, that ferry was cool – I took it once on a drive to Pennsylvania. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: @lindadessau we’re matching on that answer! #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q3 – Definitely will do more analytics to identify inefficiencies and hopefully come up with thoughtful solutions to stop waste #sbbuzz
Jillfoster: To launch video/audio series on the funny + fearful “adventures” of public speaking, RT @sbbuzz: Q2 What is your BHAG for 2010? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @mriggen I think the gentle rocking of a boat would put me to sleep every afternoon. Come to think of it, great place for an office! #sbbuzz
annaleeblysse: Q3 – Stop wasting time with fun online things that don’t really help further goals. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @adriarichards Very cool. I could also relate to what you said about what you’re really good at versus what you can do. #sbbuzz
ginabee: Q3 – To stop worrying about things that are beyond my control & utilizing the energy for working toward my goals. Real zen, huh? #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q3: What a great question – we focus so much on adding more we don’t think about what we can take away. #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: Q3 What are you going to stop doing in 2010? Using Sharepoint or MS Office. Google Apps all the way! #sbbuzz
shashib: BHAG for 2010 is to get 50k fans for our facebook page http://bit.ly/nsfb #sbbuzz
nyasha: RT @adriarichards: Q3 Stop accepting work simply because someone will pay. New Factors: enjoyment, strategy and client fun level #sbbuzz
lindadessau: RT @ginabee: Q3 – To stop worrying about things that are beyond my control & utilizing the energy for working toward my goals. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: I think I’ll add another BHAG – to find more ways to team up with people to bring about mutual success. I love doing that! #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q3 Stop trying to solve new problems in old ways. Need to come up with new ways more often. #sbbuzz
shashib: @ginabee good advice #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q4 How do you communicate your goals to your team? #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Doing #sbbuzz for the first time. Interesting Twitter + crowdsource + businesshttps://sbbuzz.wordpress.com/instructions
lindadessau: RT @pmohara: Q3 Stop trying to solve new problems in old ways. Need to come up with new ways more often. #sbbuzz
mriggen: @adriarichards Loving your answers! If work isn’t fun, what’s the point? #sbbuzz
ginabee: @shashib Thanks – now comes the hard part…implementation! #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q4 Communicate Goals: write them down daily, tell people, repeat them aloud, review daily, RememberTheMilk.com #sbbuzz
jescarter: Checking out #sbbuzz. Interesting conversation going on now.
bradfordshimp: Q4 – I just kinda put my goals out there. Sometimes I have to adjust. Having feedback on them makes them more realistic. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q4 I have this amazing telepathic connection to my team, I just think it and he knows about it right away. #sbbuzz
leoraw: RT @adriarichards: Q3 Stop accepting work simply because someone will pay. New Factors: enjoyment, strategy and client fun level #sbbuzz
annaleeblysse: @bradfordshimp I agree finding more people w/similiar biz that want to share/network would really help further goals. #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Q4 Since I work with other independent contractors, I need to improve how I communicate goals to the whole team. #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q4 – meeting or personal communication; working on more formal methods and cloud-like solutions #sbbuzz
adriarichards: @mriggen yes, you die in life if work isn’t fun #livingdead. I quit my job cold turkey. Never looked back #sbbuzz
Patrysha: Q4 – My team is all virtual…so communication is via webchat, phone and email oh except the kids I just yell at them or IM them #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @annaleeblysse Yeah, this is a big growth generator and something that more of us need to tap in to. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q4 I’ll be setting up some phone meeting to chat with team members about 2010 goals. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: @BeckyMcCray Have you tried Basecamp, Activecollab or RememberTheMilk to communicate team goals? #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @leoraw Leora, there you are! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @adriarichards Ah, thats about where I’m at. Looking forward to not looking back! #sbbuzz
TammyMunson: My intro – Tammy , social media director for Jane Wayne gear and freelance social media content producer , army wife #sbbuzz
leoraw: @lindadessau Hi – got distracted by family life – then I saw it was way past 8 pm! Enjoying reading all the ideas. #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: @beckymccray Google Sites might also be a nice company portal through which to communicate to employees #sbbuzz
jescarter: Q4: Team is independent contractors, geographically dispersed, so mostly use email, chat and sometimes phone to stay connected. #sbbuzz
Patrysha: @TammyMunson Hi gf! We have to take time to catch up soon! #sbbuzz
mriggen: @TammyMunson Hi Tammy! Just jump in, we’re rolling away talking about goals etc. for 2010 🙂 #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q4 Start by opening up a discussion, so I just added an agenda item to next week’s team meeting RE: 2010 goals. #sbbuzz
TammyMunson: @Patrysha absolutely!!! its been AGES!!!!!!!! lol #sbbuzz
ginabee: Q4 – As a solo biz, I still have to go thru the process of identifying & articulating my goals to myself & doing things toward them #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q5 How are you going to track progress on achievement of your goals? #sbbuzz
leoraw: @shanemacsays I like the idea of using Google Apps to replace other software! Told this to someone using expensive custom software. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q5 I’m going to stay accountable by working with a coach and other support team members. #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q5 Do I have to track progress? Can’t I just get the boat? 🙂 #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q5 – through customer satisfaction rates, employee satisfaction, and analytical measures #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @ginabee Amen. #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Q5 I have a monthly check in with my Board of Advisors, a group of peers. We cheer each other on, and hold each other accountable. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q5 My goals are on my blog’s “About” page. I move items from “To Do” to “Completed” for all to see #sbbuzz
TammyMunson: we use conf calls, basecamp and virtual conf rooms to establish goals and communicate on their progress #sbbuzz
andreayap: Q4 No such thing as overcommunicating. Group Dump > Email Recap > Indivdual follow ups > Group dump, again #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q5 Toodledo allows me to attach tasks to goals but I’ve not used that function – should dig in to it before year end. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q5 – I plan to look monthly at where I am at. If I am not where I want to be, I will need to figure what to fix. #sbbuzz
leoraw: @adriarichards I like that! I’d like to see your ‘About’ page and how you list your goals. #sbbuzz
pmohara: @BeckyMcCray that sounds great – how did you form that group? Is it virtual? #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q5 Regular review is critical – so easy to lose sight of goals in day to day grind. #sbbuzz
KevinShopTab: Q5 – ShopTab prides itself on its direct customer relations for customer service and app help! using social media to stay in touch!! #sbbuzz
jescarter: Q5: Using short- and long-term plans. Periodically evaluate progress against them. For online goals, google analytics. #sbbuzz
RubisSolutions: Check out hashtag #sbbuzz for conversations about Small Business Chat http://fb.me/6jfjTS8 (via @netsolcares)
TammyMunson: Q5 surveys, social media metrics, and customer satisfaction #sbbuzz
Patrysha: Q5 My big gaudy thermometer, monthly review sessions & my bank account #sbbuzz
ginabee: Q5 – I’m already pretty adept at goal setting. The kick in the pants to achieve them will come from coach & myself working together. #sbbuzz
adriarichards: .@leoraw http://butyoureagirl.com/about/#goals #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q6 Who do you ask to help you achieve your goals? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @beckymcray That does sound good indeed. One of my goals is to develop out a group that can encourage each other. #sbbuzz
StuffSmart: @sbbuzz Q5 surveys, social media, and customer satisfaction surveys #sbbuzz
annaleeblysse: Q5 – I use POD company @Zazzle services and they keep great recorts I just keep basics off line. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @ginabee How did you find your coach? Any suggestions? #sbbuzz
StuffSmart: sbbuzz Q6 other people in my field #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @pmohara The advisory board came out of SOBCon08, and is all virtual. http://bit.ly/YYnHN #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q6 – employees, personal contacts, family, God #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q6 Life Coach, SCORE mentors, peer mentors, God, Twitter — Who do I get help from to achieve goals? #sbbuzz
leoraw: @adriarichards Nice! Long. I like your goal to visit Jerusalem – well worth it! I also do web technology work. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q6 – Ah, not enough people. I tend to try on my own when I should be asking for help at every turn. There is power in collaboration. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q6 Who do I ask for help to achieve my goals? God, my coach, and other support team members. #sbbuzz
Patrysha: Q6 – Everyone…lol…lots of ppl I tap for expertise, support, inspiration…whatever I need #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @bradfordshimp The board is very, very positive. Highly recommended! #sbbuzz
leoraw: Q6 husband, friends, current clients, new ppl I meet via Twitter or in person in New Jersey – sometimes my kids help me! #sbbuzz
annaleeblysse: Q6 – Friends, relatives … word-of-mouth … Example: if I send you a mug will you tell people where you got it. #sbbuzz
ginabee: Q6 – Not enough people! I tend to isolate myself. Well, just my wonderful sweetie @scoblitz & he’s probably tired of it by now! #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q5 Getting proper metrics reporting in place, pulling data from various different places to make it easier to analyze. #sbbuzz
crussell6481: @sbbuzz #sbbuzz mentors
jescarter: Q6: For help to achieve goals? I ask God, peer mentors, myself and wise friends. #sbbuzz
TammyMunson: Q6 — depends on the area that needs to be address… usually someone with real expertise iin that area #sbbuzz
pmohara: Me, too! RT @bradfordshimp: Q6 I tend to try on my own when I should ask for help at every turn. There is power in collaboration #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Q6 – Interesting theme. Most of us don’t ask other people to help us achieve our goals. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q6 @ginabee helps me out a lot. We make a good team. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q7 Lastly, how did you do with your 2009 goals? #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @scoblitz, @ginabee, you guys are lucky 🙂 #sbbuzz
ginabee: @scoblitz Yeah, mushy stuff aside, we really do compliment one another. #sbbuzz
StuffSmart: @sbbuzz Q7 Lastly, how did you do with your 2009 goals? Met and exceded them 🙂 #sbbuzz
Patrysha: @sbbuzz Q7 Went in a completely different direction than I intended, but richer for it #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Hey! I want to point out we haven’t discussed any technology items yet #lastquestion #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: Q7 – I did really well with 2009 goals, topped most of them. A few I just barely made. And one is going to go down to the wire! #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q7: I was hoping to plan them in tonight’s chat! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q7 – Didn’t go far enough fast enough, but got a good start on things in 2009. Really a year of learning. #sbbuzz
andreayap: Q6 customers , really – my goals start and end with customers #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Q9 How did I do with my 2009 goals? I fell short on the earnings – got very distracted mid-year and took some time to bounce back. #sbbuzz
ChrisKrysinski: Q7 – goals were achieved slower in 2009, would blame the restrictive economy #sbbuzz
Timberry: Quick hello to #sbbuzz tonight … I wish I could be there , I miss it, but at least I can wave on my way between places … best wishes!
bradfordshimp: @scoblitz Nice. I was going to go for something like that, but you nailed it! #sbbuzz
leoraw: Q7 In some ways I did great in 2009, with new clients and networking, but wish it were more. So I give myself a B+ for goals #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @bradfordshimp Q7 That’s just what I was going to say – I learned TONS in 2009 and grew a LOT (including some growing pains). #sbbuzz
mriggen: @Timberry Hi Tim! Bye Tim 😀 ! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @Timberry Hello. Could have used your wisdom on planning for 2010! See you around. #sbbuzz
leoraw: @Timberry Thanks for checking in! Nice to see your smiling face. #sbbuzz
pmohara: @adriarichards Some nights are more tech than others. Sorry if you expected something else – feel free to make suggestions for next #sbbuzz
adriarichards: Q7 How did I do for Goals in 2009? #walkingonsunshine #beyondwildestdreams #sbbuzz
annaleeblysse: Q7 – I met level of sales/growth that I’d set. Seemed like a lot at the time. Chipped away one month at time & made it. #sbbuzz
andreayap: 2009 goals? Wait, let me twitters search what they were again… #sbbuzz
chadweinman: Hello – i’m tragically late. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: And now it is what we affectionately call Pitch Time. Please tell us a little about your business. #sbbuzz
BeckyMcCray: @Timberry Howdy! #sbbuzz
ginabee: Q7- Goal was status quo & ended up with a load of unrealized potential !Never could have guessed this is where I’d be at this point! #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Pitch: How to write a top 10 article that will demonstrate your expertise to prospective customershttp://snipr.com/t1pw5 #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q7 2009 was a challenging year, but one of learning and one of good progress in a few key areas. Bring on 2010! #sbbuzz
adriarichards: @pmohara ah. will do. This was fun. I’m just a geek so I love to talk techie! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: I am CSO of Idea Anglers. I want to invite everyone here over to the new site and the free beta membership – http://bit.ly/7AiCfm #sbbuzz
shanemacsays: President of @m2volt (web dev and marketing) and I am a wedding singer/musician on the weekends.. #sbbuzz
AegeanLou: @sbbuzz Q6 I ask those who have practical experience in leading from the front. #sbbuzz
Leave a comment

Filed under summary

Leave a Reply

