Chocolate and Business : A chat with @sweetriot

We all love chocolate and @sweetriot is working to give us more to love.  Last week we chatted with her about her company…..and well chocolate.

Want to participate in #sbbuzz?

  • We’re on every Tuesday from 8-10 pm EST.  The next chat will be held on October 27th!
  • You can read the instructions on how to participate here: http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
  • Invite others to join in, help them get started.  We started this chat to facilitate conversation between small biz owners.

And now on to the summary!

sbbuzz: Inspirational @sweetriot is guest on #sbbuzz tonight 8-10 PM discussing social entrepreneurship and chocolate. Mmm… http://sbbuzz.bizsbbuzz: Rules: 1)NO pitching till end 2)Be nice 3)Stay on topic 4)Send ?s directly to me 5)Use #sbbuzz in all messages 6)Have fun! 7)Bring friends
sbbuzz: * free peaces of chocolate to anyone who can identify the new rule 🙂 #sbbuzzsbbuzz:  And to start off we have introductions: 1 message about you and your business and whatever else we need to know. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q1 What are you doing to gain the trust of your customers? #sbbuzz

  • strategystew:Hi all sorry I’m late, Ivana Taylor DIYMarketers and StrategyStew – How-to marketing strategies that get you chosen #sbbuzz
  • merylevans:Q1 Sharing information they can use without expecting anything in return. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:Q1 – I gain trust by providing a stream of quality content and by engaging in conversations. #sbbuzz
  • Reconcilecon:Greetings all. This is my very first time so it is good to be here #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:@sbbuzz I would, but I am pretty sure at least one of my kids already has, either that or sneezed on the screen. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:@Reconcilecon Welcome, you have found a great group. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q1: By under-promising and over-delivering. That’s how we’ve gained customer’s trust. We also surprise them with chocolate. #sbbuzz
  • MHBoys:#sbbuzz @bradfordshimp is on a roll tonight!desireescales:@Reconcilecon Nice to have you on #sbbuzz! Welcome to the discussion tonight about chocolate and social capital!pmohara:Q1 #sbbuzz We try to be as open as possible. We are on same journey as many customers, so sharing the good & bad keeps us honest.sweetriot:Q1 For r recent bday, I sent a personal note 2 r customer list. No
  • survey-simple questions – what do u love/not love bout sweetriot. #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz:@sbbuzz Q1: Acting in their best interests during our engagement, and being genuine and honest. #sbbuzz
  • Reconcilecon:Well, for me, in South Australia, it is 10.49AM on the 21st ( not tonight ) #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:RT @pmohara: Q1 #sbbuzz We try to be as open as possible. We are on same journey as many customers, sharing the good & bad keeps us honest.desireescales:@Reconcilecon Good morning! #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@sweetriot I bet you send chocolate too! #sbbuzz
  • merylevans:RT @pmohara Q1We try to be as open as possible. We are on same journey as many customers, so sharing the good & bad keeps us honest. #sbbuzz
  • IACEZ:Q1 Letting them know we are here to help anytime w/ quick responses and by giving their issues our utmost attn. #sbbuzz
  • MHBoys:Q1 #sbbuzz
  • we offer some FREE advice and service – we want to be our b2b customers
  • trusted technology advisors – not screwing up helps, too!IACEZ:@Reconcilecon Welcome to #sbbuzz! 🙂svcathy:@sbbuzz Hi – Independent PR from Silicon Valley here. First time; I?ll observe this time! #sbbuzz
  • IACEZ:RT @desireescales: Q1: By under-promising and over-delivering. That’s how we’ve gained customer’s trust… #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:Q1 – Knowing what you are talking about, believing in what you offer, and passionately educating all builds trust. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Q2 How do you involve your customers in the development of your business or product? #sbbuzz
  • IACEZ:Q1 Using social media to remind them that there are real people behind your company name helps build trust too. #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz:@svcathy don’t just observe – jump right in! #sbbuzz
  • Reconcilecon:As a sole proprietor, it is easy to be more adaptable , flexible and personal. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Welcome to all of the new folks! Feel free to weigh in. This is a very supportive group and we love to hear from everyone! #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Oops – Q2 How do you involve your customers in the development of your business or product? #sbbuzz

  • Reconcilecon:If people are genuinely interested in what I have to offer, I meet with
  • them over a cup of coffee ( rather than phone or email ). #sbbuzz
  • sweetriot:Q2 So important. We prototype whenever we can & take product ideas
  • straight to our consumers to taste, touch, feel, react! Yum!! #sbbuzz
  • shanemacsays:A little late but i will catch up… Glad to be here! Q2 #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q2: No one is perfect and if things go wrong, there is a gift in it for all biz owners if you listen. #sbbuzz
  • merylevans:Q2 Create short surveys, hold a drawing for those who do the survey, ask them when you connect with them. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:Q2 – I try to offer solutions based on needs. I craft my services around the results that customers need. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Apparently I am mentally incapable of remembering to switch between me & the bee in TweetDeck. Doh! #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q2: Sometimes its not in listening to what is said, its listening to what’s not said where you get the best feedback. #sbbuzz
  • IACEZ:Q2 We use UserVoice to collect suggestions- it’s great because users can track the progress of their requests. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:@desireescales Good point. Customers sometimes hesitate to be critical to your face, even if you ask for it. #sbbuzz
  • Reconcilecon:In Conflict resolution presentations, I personally meet with the client and discuss the content he would like included #sbbuzz
  • Chris_Hendricks:Q2 How do you involve your customers in the development of your
  • business or product? Communication is key to any relationship… #sbbuzz
  • MHBoys:Q2 principals consistently meet with clients so they don’t only talk to
  • help desk. Quarterly meetings with select staff of clients #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:RT @bradfordshimp: Q2 – I try to offer solutions based on needs. I craft my services around the results that customers need. #sbbuzz (YES!)desireescales:@sweetriot Can I be a taste- tester? Just kidding LOL! #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@IACEZ Website please? #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Q2 My favorite trick is good old fashioned phone. We have a real phone
  • number & we actually answer it. Get best feedback that way #sbbuzz
  • shanemacsays:I try to involve all parties in the process so we can all answer the question “Why” and everyone is on the same page. #sbbuzz
  • leoraw:Like @Reconcilecon I like to meet new customers in person, if possible. But have developed good relationships by phone, email, too. #sbbuzz
  • strategystew:Q2 My favorite way to involve customers in the business is by forming an informal advisory board #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q2: Let’s not forget social media channels such as this one. I get
  • feedback on our podcast and blog all the time. Great insights! #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz:@sbbuzz Q2: Each interaction is unique and their requirements determine what we provide for that encounter. #sbbuzz
  • IACEZ:@desireescales http://Uservoice.com You can go to http://features.iacez.com to see how it works. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:@strategystew I love this idea and have advocated for small biz. Its amazing how little we talk to our customers outside sales. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Q2 We also have our forums, customer advisory groups, e-mail, Twitter,
  • Webinars and Onboarding consultations. To name a few. 🙂 #sbbuzz
  • shanemacsays:@desireescales Social media reviews I find way more straight forward than others #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@IACEZ Awesome, thanks! #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@shanemacsays You can’t pussyfoot around in 140 characters, you get right to the point ; ) #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@pmohara Wow! You love feedback, don’t ya! #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q3 from @couponbootcamp How does one find a business partner? #sbbuzz

  • desireescales:@IACEZ I voted for the iPhone app btw…LOL! #sbbuzz
  • sweetriot:Q3 Whew. Never easy. Our manufacturer is a key partner. Think
  • chemistry… it’s a relationship…a marriage of sorts. Trust is key. #sbbuzz
  • IACEZ:@desireescales You’re welcome! Thank you!! 😉 #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:Q3 – By networking and being willing to put your ideas and thoughts out there. Can’t find a partner by hiding your ideas. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:@desireescales yeah, some call us obsessive. In a healthy way, I’m sure. 🙂 #sbbuzz
  • shanemacsays:Online I find events, events I meet people, online to read their ideas.
  • If What you present backs up what you’ve done, step 1 #sbbuzz
  • MHBoys:Q3 find businesses with skillsets we don’t have in common, share
  • customers and revenue for products we won’t develop internally #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Q3 Business partners are like sweethearts. Hard to know how you’ll meet
  • a good one until you do. So just keep going out & trying. #sbbuzz
  • strategystew:@bradfordshimp a customer advisory board is like PR, buzz building, customer research and loyalty insurance all in one #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz:@sbbuzz I look for business partnerships everywhere – you never know where you’ll connect with like minded folks. #sbbuzz
  • strategystew:Q3 finding a partner involves laying time, money , and skin in the game commitment #sbbuzz
  • sweetriot:@bradfordshimp So agree with you on openly sharing ideas. Remaining ‘stealth’ never helps you gain momentum for your dreams. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Q4 As business owner, how do you balance your personal brand vs your business one? #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Doh again. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q4 As business owner, how do you balance your personal brand vs your business one? #sbbuzz

  • bradfordshimp:@sweetriot So many good ideas die because we are afraid someone will steal them. This is something I want to explore more. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:@sweetriot I think collaboration can unleash great ideas. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q4: Sometimes I’m not sure which one starts and ends the day. I see myself coming and going often… #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:@pmohara Don’t worry, I don’t read the Q’s when you send them as yourself. (So as not to ruin the suprise) #sbbuzz
  • shanemacsays:Life is becoming more about the 2 coming together but for the random pic on facebook, lists and filters. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q4: Seriously, our company brand is important, but my personal brand
  • more so because people connect with me on a personal level. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q4: My personal brand builds trust, the company stands right behind it and becomes part of me. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:@sbbuzz Q4 – just started reading Crush It, and Gary V starts of by saying your personal brand is what matters most. #sbbuzz
  • BeckyMcCray:Q4 Balance your personal brand vs your biz brand by first thinking
  • about how you want to define them. What differences do you want? #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:Q4 – In other words, develop a personal brand that is your business,
  • that takes it to new levels, and that opens opportunities. #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz:@sbbuzz Q4: I don’t necessarily make a distinction but I am working to promote the “business me” a bit more than I have in the past. #sbbuzz
  • leoraw:Q4 Some customers like working with me bc they can relate to me
  • personally, for ex. – working mom relating to working mom (or dad) #sbbuzz
  • merylevans:Q4 I’m lucky I keep my business to a one-person biz — so my personal brand matters to my business. After all, you get me. #sbbuzz
  • MHBoys:Q4 the business has to be able to back me up flawlessly – our brands are tied! #sbbuzz
  • zerocredit:Q3 from @couponbootcamp How does one find a business partner? #sbbuzz http://bit.ly/5gBE7
  • pmohara:Q4 I don’t think much about my personal brand. Not sure if that is laziness, shyness or brilliance (not modesty, though!). #sbbuzz
  • zerocredit:Q4 As business owner, how do you balance your personal brand vs your business one? #sbbuzz http://bit.ly/10QyXK
  • shanemacsays:If the man behind the biz is not respected the business is lost. I say personal brand is more important. #sbbuzz
  • selahsynergy:@sbbuzz Q4 for me, personal and biz brand are the same since I left corp world – my biz is founded on my personal values. #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz:@sbbuzz Q4: There does need to be a visible mix though – your product or service is only a part of why I would work with you. #sbbuzz
  • sweetriot:Q4 I don’t use the word brand (feels artificial) & I don’t separate
  • me & the business. It’s intertwined. The more real, the better. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Q4 I think we’ve focused more on giving the business brand our personal values. Not on defining a personal brand. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:@scoblitz Right – the product or service shouldn’t be the brand. #sbbuzz
  • merylevans:RT @bradfordshimp @pmohara Perhaps, but your personality comes through in everything you do … yes, sah! That’s what makes us orig! #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:Q4 – I agree with @tpentrepreneur that you should build your business around your personal mores, you make your business what it is. #sbbuzz
  • Reconcilecon:I think when I am working on my own, my personal brand is my business brand. Would you guys agree ? #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q4: There is no real competition out there. The only one you compete
  • against in business is yourself & how you showed up yesterday. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@Reconcilecon Yes, I agree because people hire you, not your brand when it comes down to it. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Now we will be directing ?s to our guest Sarah Endline, CEO, Chief Rioter & brains behind @sweetriot. Welcome, Sarah! #sbbuzzsweetriot: Great to be here! #sbbuzzsbbuzz: Everyone feel free to jump in w/thoughts or follow-up ?s (but stay on topic!) #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q5 What does “social entrepreneurship” mean to you? #sbbuzzsweetriot: Q5 Entrepreneurship to make a difference. Marshalling resources to make an impact in the world. Making change a part of your agenda. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q5: Giving back consistently, holding nothing back, expecting nothing in return. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:@sweetriot Love the idea of making change a part of the agenda. It’s too easy to think that we’ll “give back” when we “get big”. #sbbuzz
  • Reconcilecon:Q5 I S.E Are we talking about businesses being socially responsible or being cutting edge and creative ? #sbbuzz
  • MHBoys:Q5 I try to stay away from anything that could be remotely construed as
  • political or religious – have customers of all stripes… #sbbuzz
  • IACEZ:Q4 @desireescales Re competition- I don’t think that’s just 4 biz, it’s for life in general. Aim 2 better yourself, not beat others. #sbbuzz
  • sbbuzz:All – don’t forget to send me your ?s for Sarah (DM or send message w/o the hashtag). #sbbuzz
  • MHBoys:Q5 except that climate change is real and accelerated by human activity and be nice to animals #sbbuzz
  • sweetriot:
  • If you are committed to some form of social change, I advocate it being
  • embedded in your business model at the very beginning. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q5: We did free web design work for non-profits starting our very first
  • year in biz. It felt wonderful even though we were small. #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz:@sbbuzz Q5 I’m sorry – I got distracted. Busy reading about and shopping for chocolate. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q5: We continue to do free non profit sites each year, its part of who we are now, both personally and professionally. #sbbuzz
  • mattharrell:Hey folks! Q5: Never heard the term, but to me it means starting “something” but using social media to help! I sure have. #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@scoblitz Hah! I was doing the same thing! #sbbuzz
  • Reconcilecon:So what do you think about having values-based ‘Mission’ or ‘Vision’ statements – Useful or a waste of time? #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@IACEZ I agree…be a better person each day to your family, friends and colleagues. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:@Reconcilecon My loose understanding is model akin to charity org. (w/defined causes), but relying on profit, not just donations. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp:Need to bow out early. It was nice to be back. See you fine folks around! #sbbuzz
  • MHBoys:Q5 we do some free and discount work for non-profits #sbbuzz some of our customers we couldn’t have in the same room, though…

sbbuzz: Q6 from @desireescales How does your business give back to the world? How do you follow your social conscience? #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q7 What is the biggest challenge to putting a social mission first? #sbbuzz

  • desireescales:Q6: For those of you who don’t know me, knitting is my other passion. #sbbuzz
  • Reconcilecon:I have to depart but nice to spend first ngt or morn with you. Good
  • article desiree. I have foll you all so pls follow back ! #sbbuzz
  • sweetriot:Q6 our model is to build in from the very beginning – eg, we source and
  • produce in Latin America to promote an ‘equitrade’ model. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:Bye everyone. I’m crawling back under the dunce rock now. #sbbuzz
  • rogersanchez:Q7: I would say it isn’t. Those that could use your product for FREE,
  • find you. Giving is the easiest policy. With resources #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:Q7: Being taken srsly. I think ppl cn have the impression that a
  • “social mission” is just a gimmick 2 get ppl 2 buy products. #sbbuzz
  • jmpineda:@pmohara I think it’s hard to make a social mission your top priority, but it should be woven into work ethic and culture. #sbbuzz
  • sweetriot:@reconcilecon For sure you can be creative & innovative w/out being socially responsible. I advocate being all 3 with values! 🙂 #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@pmohara Aw, don’t go away! We love both personalities! #sbbuzz
  • desireescales:@Reconcilecon Absolutely, have a great day whilst we sleep here in Atlanta! Have a cup of coffee for me (or tea!) #sbbuzz
  • sweetriot: Q7 All businesses have trade offs so it is no different except intent and stakeholders and change are always in the framework. #sbbuzz
  • rogersanchez:Q7:Having a social mission early on, helps build a community,
  • translates to customers, and loyalty. But its risky. Wait for success. #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz:@sbbuzz I would think demonstrating authenticity, and the perception that altruism and profit can’t be cooperative. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: @sweetriot Tell us more about your social mission and how else you are putting it into practice w/in your business. #sbbuzz

  • sweetriot: Latin sourcing. Emerging artwork on packaging. Reuse recycle direction. Natural healthy products. Open book democratic workplace. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara:@scoblitz Many are skeptical if a charity makes a profit or a business is charitable. Yet that is more sustainable way to help. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q8 Profit must be a driver of the social mission. How do you balance the two?#sbbuzz

    sbbuzz: Thanks so much the Sarah for joining us and wrestling the Twitter tar to chat with us. You are doing amazing things! #sbbuzz

    • marfranclean:I really don’t know how u do that we all want to address social issues but right know making a profit is so hard #sbbuzz – staying focusscoblitz:@sbbuzz eSeMBe offers efficiency focused technology solutions. Follow our new Byte Sized Blog at http://myesembe.com #sbbuzz
    • sbbuzz:And thanks to everyone for joining in and not laughing at my redundancies. 🙂 #sbbuzz

       

    Leave a comment

    Filed under business start-up, marketing, small business, summary

    Leave a Reply

    