Summary from August 18, 2009: Idea Anglers

Awww.  Our kids are all grown up now!  @bradfordshimp and @nrohrbach joined us for the latest #sbbuzz chat to tell us more about meeting via SBbuzz, launching their new business, and recruited some SBbuzzers for contributions to Idea Anglers.

Congratulations on your launch Bradford and Neal!

Check out the summary below for more details on their relationship (they’re an amusing pair) and how you can participate in Idea Anglers.

Don’t forget we’re on a bi-weekly summer schedule!  If you have small business questions on technology, join us!

  • Sbbuzz-ups are every other Tuesday this summer, next up is September 1st, 2009 from 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM Eastern Time. Join us – We’re here to facilitate the conversation between small business owners.
  • Know small businesses that need help? Let them know when this chat happens, help them get started on Twitter and let’s talk!
  • Instructions for participating are at http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
sbbuzz: Hi all! Welcome to #sbbuzz, a Tweetchat for next 2 hours of small biz talking about technology. Join us! http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
sbbuzz: Rules: 1)NO pitching till end 2)Be nice 3)Stay ON TOPIC! 4)Send ?s for group to me w/o hashtag 5)Use #sbbuzz in all messages 6)Have fun!
sbbuzz: 1st hour is open discussion; 2nd hour is chat w/@IdeaAnglers re: virtual collaboration. DM me w/questions for either. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: To start off we have introductions: 1 message about you and your business and whatever else we need to know. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Great to be here! I help coaches and other small biz owners write content for newsletters & blogs, etc. http://snipr.com/friz9 #sbbuzz
merylevans: @merylkevans of http://www.meryl.net coming to you from Plano, TX. Content maven who makes a livin’ playin’ with words. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Hello all! I’m co-founder of Idea Anglers and publisher of All Biz Answers. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Scott Blitstein from eSeMBe / Tech Go-To Guy, Blogger, and Music Lover. #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Jacqueline Business Solution Analyst @ Business Pipeline helping to manage, run & growth businesses nationwide businesspipeline.com #sbbuzz
pmohara: Hi #sbbuzz folks! Pamela from @BatchBlue back tan, rested and ready to moderate a raucous chat with @IdeaAnglers
mriggen: @sbbuzz Hello folks (and welcome back, bee!) I’m Michelle Riggen-Ransom with @BatchBlue. We make software for small businesses. #sbbuzz
KitBook: Hi all! David here. I’m the co-author of the award winning hands-on science KitBook. #sbbuzz
Smallbizlabs: I’m Steve from the small business research firm Emergent Research #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Neal here, co-founder and CCO of @ideaanglers, looking forward to collaborating tonight! #sbbuzz
designleap: I’m graphic/web designer who works with small business owners one-on-one to perfect their business image #sbbuzz
BookkeepingEase: 1st time on #sbbuzz La Shonda from Bookkeeping Ease in NJ offering small biz owners peace of mind knowing their books are up to date #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: We’re a little extra buzzy about 10,000 followers reached today. Thanks for all the support awesome #sbbuzz peeps!
lindaclairepuig: Hi all, my first time here, compliments of @lindadessau. I run an “everything newsletters” company for coaches, therapists & others #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @BookkeepingEase Welcome to you! #sbbuzz
CASUDI: Building bridges between people – designing success ~ for entrepreneurs & as an Architectural & Interior Designer 🙂 #sbbuzz
lindadessau: You all be extra nice to @lindaclairepuig, please – she’s my collaborator so I invited her to the talk about collaboration! #sbbuzz
mriggen: @BookkeepingEase Welcome La Shonda! Just was in NJ a few weeks ago for the first time, had fun at the shore! #sbbuzz
rzazueta: Heya #sbbuzz!!! Rob Z. here – web developer to the stars!
mriggen: @lindaclairepuig We’re getting a lot of Lindas here 😉 Welcome! #sbbuzz
lindadessau: (Guess I better not ask any advice about collaboration problems 😉 Just kidding! Not having any 🙂 #sbbuzz
BookkeepingEase: @mriggen glad you enjoyed the famous NJ Shore 😉 #sbbuzz #sbbuzz
pmohara: @lindadessau Thanks for bringing along a friend! Welcome to -the new folks. We’re going to be doing some great collaborating. #sbbuzz
BookkeepingEase: thank you @lindadessau and @mriggen for the warm welcome #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q1 How much time do you spend writing your own blogs, Tweets, etc. vs. commenting/answering other people’s messages? #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @pmohara, @mriggen You can never have too many Lindas! #sbbuzz
merylevans: Q1 Anywhere from 10 minutes to 45 minutes a day / 5 times a week. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @sbbuzz Q1 Ouch! I’m guilty of being a little out of proportion here – still spending majority of the time writing my own stuff. #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q2: My business is responding to people so about 4/5 of emails, tweeting but it make me money. #sbbuzz
desireescales: #sbbuzz Desiree Scales from Bella Web Design sneaking in between putting some web proposals together and a presentation.
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q1 Big part of my job is to produce content, so I’d say it’s about 60/40 on an average day (if that includes email). #sbbuzz
Smallbizlabs: Too much writing my own, not enough commenting and answering others #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q1: Also I have to say, since this fancy new Twitter thing came along, I don’t leave nearly as many comments on blogs :/ #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q1 – I spend much more time working on my own content than commenting. But when I do comment, I go for quality. #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q2: @Smallbizlabs It’s important to comment on other peeps blog to gain exposure in your field #sbbuzz
mattharrell: Q1: The time is almost equal, although, I’d like to spend more time “commenting” on other blogs. #sbbuzz
BookkeepingEase: Q1. agree with @Smallbizlabs . I need to be spend more time interactive with replying and retweeting #sbbuzz
CASUDI: #sbbuzz A1. 4hours /blog, Tweets 1+ Hour/day, Comments 1-3 Hour/day more when mentoring 🙂 much much more when designing a residence.
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q1: More time on the creation because it requires more from me but I do make an effort to comment / reply to others. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q1: But I do love to reply and engage in direct conversation. That prob. takes priority over all else. #sbbuzz
designleap: Q1 It takes me longer to create articles for my blog than leave comments on others. I’m a designer after all. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: A2 Important to comment on other blogs that interest you to start networking & collaborating #sbbuzz I dont comment enough 🙂
lindadessau: @scoblitz That’s a good point, I want to take a lot of care with what I’m creating, & may not need as much time to reply to others #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @desireescales Indeed. We should do a poll to see who is multi-tasking tonight. I am working on my collaboration station + this. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q1: I’m finding it difficult to divide my time between talking about my work and actually doing it. Blogging takes time.
bradfordshimp: Comments are very important to connect with your network. I try to leave comments on posts from friends whenever I can. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz which is why I love Twitter – 140 characters? Easy.
rzazueta: @bradfordshimp I’m making calls and finishing my CMS! Multitasking rules! #sbbuzz
desireescales: Q1: If I don’t have @joemagennis to keep me on task every Monday at 2 for our Bella Buzz podcast, I don’t know what I’d do. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp I love the comments back and forth also, however most of mine are via email #sbbuzz ….take priority when designing
scoblitz: @lindadessau I really only comment if I have something worthwhile to add. They must have hit a spark so the reply is easy. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @CASUDI I love to interact on ideas via email – can really get down to the bone of a subject! #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q2 Do you get involved in current political debates? How do you communicate your views? #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: @lindadessau @scoblitz it allow other readers to see you have a solid prospective outside a few positive or negative comments. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q2: Phew… I try to avoid the political debates in my professional channels. Sometimes, it’s not so easy.
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp comments on bBogs have led to great discussions / collaboration by email #sbbuzz
KitBook: Q2: Oh boy. Tough not to get involoved these days. But have to be careful not to offend current or potential customers #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz but I do write to my congressperson and comment on his blog.
helpbusinesses: Q2 Politics is not part of my business so I don’t mix the two. That can be dangerous ground to loose customers. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q2 Clarification – do you weigh in to your elected officials on current issues (ie healthcare)? #sbbuzz
lindaclairepuig: Q2 I leave politics aside for now, at least professionally…trying to look for the common ground. #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q2: Politics and business matters should stay separated unless your business in politics in my opinion. #sbbuzz
merylevans: Q2 I tend to shy from anything that might reveal my beliefs and know how politics become heated. Not meant for online permanence #sbbuzz
BookkeepingEase: Q2. I try to stay away from political debates.We are all entitled to our opinions but at times it can get touchy & miss perceived #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @helpbusinesses Q2 I feel the same way – it’s not really relevant to what I’m using talking/writing about. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: A2~Politics ~ no comment 🙂 #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q2: I write directly to my elected officials about what I want that concerns and/or effects me as a business owner. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q2: Politics isn’t really something I participate in online. I love a good debate but typically not the best forum for it. #sbbuzz
desireescales: Q2: I dont think I wld even post my political comments on a blog. Not gd unless U’re w/ lk minded ppl behind closed doors. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @rzazueta That’s a whole other discussion – how social media has changed how engaged we are in politics. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz I do follow my senator on Twitter (she has nothing interesting to say, though) and I actually read the bills I care about.
rzazueta: #sbbuzz and I do follow my governor on Twitter (a little more interesting) as well as several news reporters.
bradfordshimp: Q2 – No, I don’t really connect with my elected officials, put think that we all should. We need to be active, can’t afford not to. #sbbuzz
katcalbes: Stumbled upon #sbbuzz via @merylevans … looks interesting so far (small biz talk re: tech) FYI http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
sbbuzz: Don’t forget to send me a DM or message w/o the hashtag with questions or topics you want discussed with the group. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz I haven;t engaged directly with my elected officials on Twitter, but I have with a few reporters.
helpbusinesses: Q2: Elected officials want to hear from their local businesses on issue that may affectt them. They reach out to use as well. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q2 – I did run for office in my small village, so the interest is there, just not the time. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz Truth is, not enough politicians have really figured this social media thing out. Too many treat it as a campaign tool.
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q2 We are who we are. We definitely don’t talk politics per se, but do have 3-D poster of someone in our office…hmmm… #sbbuzz
rzazueta: @lindadessau Totally. It would be interesting if I didn;t feel I was tweeting and commenting into a blackhole with my reps. #sbbuzz
pmohara: #sbbuzz Q2 I weigh in on Chamber surveys. I don’t have time to follow everything, but feel like I should let them know how things affect us.
littleID4me: Hello everyone. I’m new to this chat. #sbbuzz
joemagennis: Q1 Definitely s/b more time commenting. Was so vital a part of early days of building community before Twitter Facebook dispersed it #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q2: Yes, I weigh in to my elected officials often. A lot of the organizations I’m a member of have automated forms though 🙂 #sbbuzz
Dr_Cards: I’ve talked politics before, and later thought better of it. #sbbuzz. Better, I think, to create separate ID for politics or faith.
pmohara: #sbbuzz Q2 Granted, I worked on Capitol Hill for 3 years and lived in DC for 10. So I can’t help but care what is happening.
desireescales: @Dr_Cards Well hello there! Glad you joined us and finally chimed in from hot hot hot Phoenix! #sbbuzz
Dr_Cards: The refined Q2 — Yes, VERY active one on one w/ elected officials! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: I don’t talk politics here, though. I have an account on Newsvine for that when I feel the urge (every 4 years of so). #sbbuzz
lindaclairepuig: @Dr_Cards That’s a good strategy…if you want to weigh in on politics or faith, do it separate from your biz #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @Dr_Cards I like that separate ID idea #sbbuzz
desireescales: Its not that people don’t care, its that they are cautious about opening up a conversation these days given the current climate. #sbbuzz
Dr_Cards: Re: Separate ID’s for God, politics, and business conversations …. ‘course, I haven’t actually DONE that yet — too busy w/ Biz! #sbbuzz
Dr_Cards: … too busy with biz … And I’m very thankful to (You-Know-WHO!) Ooops! Now there I go again! #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q3 Do you try to maintain a strict separation between work & life? Or are you happy w/a blurred line? How are you succeeding? #sbbuzz
Dr_Cards: @DesireeScales Desiree’s right about the current climate being devisive. Why potentially cut one’s mktplc 50%? #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q3: The line is VERY blurred right now, which has been a MAJOR problem. Still trying to figure this one out…
littleID4me: I always travel the blurred line. It’s convenient and fun. Plus, lunch is a lot cheaper. #sbbuzz
mriggen: @sbbuzz Q3 I try to schedule my time neatly for both, but it doesn’t always work out. Esp. being married to VP of Tech 😉 #sbbuzz
designleap: Q3 I try to be strict work but the line seems to blur sometimes #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q3: I like the blurred line, my friends see my work side, and the work side sees I’m still human. #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q3 the separation between work & life is blurred by activities you do I think. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q3 – Have to give your family quality time. Its a must. My kids are young and if I don’t stop now to play with them, I’ll miss it. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: Q3 IF U really love your work it becomes your life, however schedule the many different things U enjoy & stick to the plan #sbbuzz
desireescales: Q3: The line blurs a bit, but I def try 2 protect my family time altho Twttr & Facebook get rlly interesting on the weekends! #sbbuzz
Smallbizlabs: we’re a mom and pop business (my wife is my business partner) and the kids help out. Blurring is automatic. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q3: Great question 😉 The line is very blurry now but we’re ok with that. #sbbuzz
desireescales: Q3: Have to pause and put the kids to bed right now. Be right back! #sbbuzz
Dr_Cards: Q3 – Being my own biz owner I live with a blurred line between work & life. Aren’t they synonymous? I get so confused! #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q3: I also think that line of separation is determined by the business that you are in as well. Some careets are lifestyles. #sbbuzz
merylevans: Q3 I’m a one-person business, so lines are blurred. I give 100% of me, but you don’t get 100% of me (quoting @nancynally) #sbbuzz
mattharrell: Q3: As a business owner it’s hard for the lines to not cross. But we embrace it and our family all contributes! #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz I think for small businesses, the line is always blurred. But, in my case, I need to strike a better balance.
bradfordshimp: Grew up in a family biz where lines crossed, but I turned out just fine, because we also focused on family. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz Ironically, I think I’m spending more time with my family than working, which is the problem. 😉
rzazueta: #sbbuzz But when I wake up early and my 10-mo old wakes up with me… would I rather code or make funny faces for an hour?
lindadessau: Q3 Ouch again! Really hitting home with these questions tonight. I’d say my life could use a little more life these days. #sbbuzz
smallbiztrends: The small biz “blurred” line between work and personal gives you a less fractured life I think. I like an “integrated” life. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Sometimes, we work late because we goofed off too much during the day. Make time by spending it more wisely in your biz. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp @desireescales If I need to work on a weekend,I take time off during the week #sbbuzz It’s all about balance.
Dr_Cards: @cookn Hey, Ted! Come join us on #sbbuzz … a 2 hr. virtual networking event that began 50 min’ ago … Search #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q4 from @Smallbizlabs How many have cut their blogging time (read and write) due to twitter? #sbbuzz
Smallbizlabs: Blurring has advantages – we do our “staff meetings” hiking in the hills near our house #sbbuzz
jgmumm: small biz is like being a farmer, the work isn’t all hard, but it’s also never done – it’s a tough line not to blur #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q4: I have considerably. The links are more timely, the convos more relevant and it’s easier to manage signal to noise ratio.
desireescales: @bradfordshimp I don’t either, but I like to get on Twitter and FB for fun because ppl relax and post silly stuff. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q4 – Twitter sometimes co-opts my reader, but it shows me new blogs, which is nice. Hasn’t cut down on my own blogging at all. #sbbuzz
leoraw: Q3 just got hear to read @bradfordshimp and @rzazueta talk about funny faces with kids.Why I work at home, so I can talk to kids, 2. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q4: It’s easy to blame Twitter for these things but I don’t think it’s been a factor. #sbbuzz
desireescales: Q4: My blog time has actually doubled because people have found me on Twitter and asked me to post! #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q4: I think every business should find the vehicle online that helps them reach their goals & use it to their fullest. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @sbbuzz Q4 I’m blogging more (LOVE Twitterfeed) but probably less comments. Reading the same or more because of links from Twitter. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @sbbuzz Q4 > The other way around, cut twitter (except chats) in favor of Writing & Commenting & READING other Blogs #sbbuzz
leoraw: Q4 Twitter is different than blogging. I use Twitter for links to posts and brief connections; blogging for longer expression. #sbbuzz
helpbusinesses: Q4: To many businesses are spreading themselves to thin using all the social networks & not getting the use of the right. #sbbuzz
desireescales: @helpbusinesses I agree, they are applying tactics instead of having a strategy. A plan is important. #sbbuzz
smallbiztrends: Q4: I find the convo jumps between blog and Twitter. Currently looking for ways to integrate Tweets next to blog posts. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q4: I’d say Twitter encourages me to blog, it gives me more outlet to spread the word, and I look forward to that. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @scoblitz It all is a balancing act in the end to get everything done #sbbuzz no one is accountable but U 🙂
rzazueta: #sbbuzz I’ve never been a consistent blogger – I keep trying, but I have a hard time keeping up. Gotta balnace life, work and blogging…
rzazueta: #sbbuzz When I look at the options to spend my time, I find coding always takes precedence over blogging. And there’s always code…
lindadessau: @nrohrbach The same thing has happened for me. I love that I post to my blog and it goes out via Twitter. #sbbuzz
BookkeepingEase: Q4. Twitter should be used as a tool to get people to your blog or website #sbbuzz
littleID4me: Q4 I’m new to Twitter, and at first probably offended a lot of people or seemed spammy, but now I’ve opened up. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz Which, again, is why I like Twitter – I take lots of 2-5 min. breaks here and there. Perfect for Twitter.
rzazueta: #sbbuzz A blog post requires at least an hour from me.
jgmumm: a lot of my clients don’t use social media; I use blogs to keep my site updated and relevant #sbbuzz
littleID4me: Q4 Twitter opened up the blogging door for me. It’s better than jogging. #sbbuzz
rzazueta: #sbbuzz Been looking for a program that allows me to integrate my blog, FB and twitter in one TweetDeck-like platform.
rzazueta: #sbbuzz I may wind up building it myself at this rate.
bradfordshimp: @rzazueta I take a 2-5 minutes break every 2-5 minutes. #sbbuzz
Dr_Cards: @desireescales ( 1 of 2) Desiree’s right about SM being a well thought-out / implemented strategy, vs. tactics. #sbbuzz
littleID4me: Q4 My only complaint is that I get very little feedback whenever I ask questions or for suggestions. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Now we will be directing ?s to our guests @nrohrbach & @bradfordshimp, loyal #sbbuzz contributors & co-founders @IdeaAnglers Welcome, guys!
IACEZ: Q4 Blogging also gives you something to Twitter about. 🙂 #sbbuzz
rongraham1: Q4 – like many of you, Twitter encourages me to blog. But more to the point, it gives me some of my best ideas. LOL #sbbuzz
Dr_Cards: ( 2 of 2) Well-executed strategy also loops back to our discussions about mixing God / politics w/ our #small-business purposes. #sbbuzz
mriggen: @littleID4me That’s not true here – you’ll get a ton of feedback 😉 #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Everyone feel free to jump in w/thoughts or follow-up ?s (but stay on topic!) #sbbuzz
joemagennis: Q4 interesting timing, I think there is concern re content ownership & trend back to blogging retains ownership not twitter, FB, FF #sbbuzz
leoraw: @littleID4me u say u get little feedback – I find I either need to ask directly or wait until someone I know is on, or ask elsewhere #sbbuzz
jgmumm: @desireescales my clients are government agencies – lots can’t even access those sites from their office, they are also just behind #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @rzazueta Typepad came out with something interesting http://snipr.com/qhead #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q6 @ideaAnglers How did you decide collaborate on a business? Any lightening bolt moments? A gradual thing? #sbbuzz
desireescales: @jgmumm That makes sense…maybe you can help lead the way a bit! #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @jgmumm, I spent 13 years in government service. My time there has taught me you won’t see these agencies catch up in my lifetime. #sbbuzz
jgmumm: i had criteria for timing of the startup; once those criteria finally came together it was a GO #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q6 – I’ll use a term my father loves – organic. It happened through a series of serendipitous events, I guess. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q6: Well it was certainly meant to be. We both have strong passions for business, and everything fell in place. #sbbuzz
jgmumm: @rongraham1 LOL. Most likely. They can still visit a web page though and so the blog still helps with SEO #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @leoraw, what feedback is it you are having trouble getting? Are you asking direct questions and having them go unanswered? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q6 – Basically, I presented a random idea, and Neal ran with it, and back and forth since then. #sbbuzz
leoraw: @rongraham1 I was answering @littleID4me who said they get little feedback – @littleID4me is new to this group. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q6: it’s been a lot of “running”, and AMAZING that we’re both always running the same direction #sbbuzz
jgmumm: @desireescales that’s actually part of my strategy; little by little I hope to move my industry or at least try #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @bradfordshimp, this is probably in a FAQ, but I’m askin’ anyway: are you and @nrohrbach located near one another? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q6 – When Neal told me he registered ideaanglers.com, I knew it something cool was happening. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @lindadessau THX for Typepad info http://snipr.com/qhead #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @rongraham1 No. I’m in New York and Neal is in South Georgia. #sbbuzz
leoraw: Regarding asking, I am going to be doing a “Twitter Research Workshop” – Q is what can one research on Twitter? #sbbuzz
rzazueta: @bradfordshimp If I recall correctly, you first heard each other’s voices doing a podcast with @DesireeScales , right? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: The thing with collaboration is, anyone can jump in, as long as you are moving in the same direction. #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @bradfordshimp, that’s very interesting. @DJFathaRamzee and I used to share an office. We can still collaborate though I’ve left… #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: @rongraham1 in fact, the first time we even heard each other’s voices was when @desireescales interviewed us for the Bella Buzz #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q8 @ideaAnglers Have you all met in person? On the phone? Is it harder to work completely online? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @leoraw Oh, I have a good one. Words. As in, do your biz keywords match what people are actually saying. #sbbuzz
rongraham1: …but Ramzee, who is a most excellent partner, is not as sure as I am about collaboration at a distance. #sbbuzz
leoraw: @bradfordshimp in other words, you concentrate on certain keywords in your business – are these the ones people use? I like that. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q8 – Our temperaments and schedules allow us to work almost exclusively through chat and email (and MemberHub) #sbbuzz
KitBook: @leoraw Twitter is great for researching opinions, best practices, operating practices, etc. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q8 – We have yet to meet in person. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q8: we’ve yet to meet in person, it’s all been Twitter, Email, LinkedIN, @memberhub, Skype Chat #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @leoraw I wrote a blog post about it, let me dig it up for you. #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @bradfordshimp, you said something about “our temperaments.” Could you expand on that just a little? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @leoraw Here it is: http://bit.ly/9vMlD #sbbuzz
merylevans: Q8 I met @internetviz (client) in person — seven years after we first started working together. It was awesome. #sbbuzz
desireescales: New Startup Created Solely with Social Media: Idea Anglers interview can be found here http://twurl.nl/7iq47w #sbbuzz
wvpmc: Hi everybody- sorry I’m late (just back from a board meeting) – we’re talking about collaboration + birth of ideaanglers.com? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q8 – I didn’t even know what Neal looked like until he changed to his current avatar. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @rongraham1 Sure. I prefer to talk through typing. I can handle conversation in bits spread throughout the day. Same with Neal. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: @bradfordshimp I didn’t want to scare you off right away #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @nrohrbach Right, like that fish picture wasn’t scary!! #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp @nrohrbach Q8 We were part of virtual comm company in 2000 BUT had to meet in person every month #sbbuzz It was harder then
designleap: Q8 I’ve worked with a lot of great people and have never met them in person/phone before, love the internet #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q9 Tell us a little about IdeaAnglers. What does it do? What makes it better than just using social media to get advice?#sbbuzz
rongraham1: @bradfordshimp, that’s always been me as well, even back in the days of Usenet and Listservs. Ramzee, however, prefers face-to-face. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q8 – People are wary of being able to build real relationships on the web, but it is doable. We’ve become great friends. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q9 – Well, its better than social networks because it is more focused, for 1. Kind of like this chat compared to Twitter as a whole. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q9 – This post by @wordpost really describes what we do very well – http://tinyurl.com/pexwbh #sbbuzz
desireescales: @bradfordshimp I think there have been a lot of great friendships started here at #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @bradfordshimp, is “more focused” a nice way to say “no MLM, no affiliate marketing, no Law of Attraction” and so forth? LOL #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q9 – What we do is bring together collaborative power and advice to help small businesses launch and grow. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q9: We’re also building a team of “Guides” some of the best pros around. Someone new to soc media may not have those connections yet #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q9 – We are introducing tools like the Collaboration Station which will help someone refine an idea into a business plan. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q9: I also try to give @bradfordshimp a lesson on Farm Equipment at least once a week #sbbuzz
wvpmc: @nrohrbach can you tell us more about the “guides” team? #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @nrohrbach, I have been reading about the guides principle in the @wordpost article. What makes a good guide? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: BTW, we do have an @ideaanglers Twitter account that you can follow, but we both wanted to weigh in as ourselves tonight. #sbbuzz
wvpmc: @CASUDI Hi Caroline! #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: @rongraham1 @wvpmc The “Guides” apply to the team, they have a proven track record in their area of study & are willing to give/take #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Be sure to check out our mention at Business Week (thanks to @scoblitz) – http://tinyurl.com/m9rqpm #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @bradfordshimp Any concerns about discussing raw ideas in a semi-public forum? #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @wvpmc I want to find out how these guides differ from what I do as mentoring & have done for 10+ years?Maybe I can delegate 🙂 #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Guides are business people that understand the power of giving and sharing. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @lindadessau The forum will be private, amongst members and guides, with a “Fisherman’s Promise” non-disclosure agreement. #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @bradfordshimp, sherpas? (I bet that word’s been taken for this context. LOL) #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @bradfordshimp Very cool, I like it 🙂 #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: We review a “resume” from the guide applicants, and there’s more on the give before you receive mantra here http://digg.com/u15HZU #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q10 What tools are you using to communicate w/each other, w/your guides and w/your members? What works? What doesn’t? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @CASUDI Come on over. Mentoring is something we might offer later on. Guides don’t have to commit to that level. #sbbuzz
mriggen: @nrohrbach It’s funny how people are still skeptical of that model. How do you prove ROI to doubters? #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @nrohrbach, I don’t like the way Business Week referred to Idea Anglers as “cheap.” Probably saving space, but blah connotation. #sbbuzz
Whistletree: @nrohrbach THANKS SO MUCH! Can’t tell you how much we appreciate your referral! I’ve been missing #sbbuzz. Hope to be on next week:)
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp My mentoring of SUs started as a founding member of the Sierra Angels #sbbuzz before that I consulted….
bradfordshimp: @rongraham1 The sense was that these are tools that start ups can afford. Sure, the word could have been “affordable” but no complai #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q10: Skype and Email a close tie for #1, @memberhub moving up the ranks, Twitter of course, LinkedIN’s collab. add-ons failed us. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q10 We are very excited to be working with MemberHub for some of the backend framework for organizing our members. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: MemberHub will allow us to give access to collaboration stations, mini-courses, etc. within the membership structure. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @nrohrbach interesting what U say about Linkedin, can U elaborate ? #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: @mriggen If one isn’t open to the ROI of give before you receive, and truly understand our mission, you probably wouldn’t fit in #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @nrohrbach I always forget about Skype, but then I really enjoy it when someone suggests we connect that way. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Other tools include MailChimp for email pushes, BatchBook to keep track of people, Skype for communication… #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Yeah, Twitter and #sbbuzz esp. have helped us get the word out. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: @CASUDI we tried getting started with LinkedIN’s huddle workspaces, updatess didn’t always come through, app itself would “timeout” #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp What is Memberhub? #sbbuzz I am looking for collaborative tool for working with designers in China…..without language:-)
scoblitz: @rongraham1 @nrohrbach The “cheap” thing was a surprise to me. The premise for my input was free or low cost services. #sbbuzz
leoraw: @bradfordshimp How does MailChimp compare to ConstantContact? why use one or the other? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Hope to integrate more tools from the fine folks here, including WhistleTree. #sbbuzz
working_arts: beside email, newsletters (html emails via email services), web and phones, we also use skype, twitter DMs, facebook #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @leoraw I am in love with MailChimp. Super user friendly, and (this is important) fun! #sbbuzz
leoraw: @working_arts which email services do you use for your newsletters? #sbbuzz
working_arts: Q10 digg, stumble, etc. to help drive traffic to our blog or relevant websites #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @nrohrbach, a little devil’s advocacy about mission: I’ve given away free stuff as long as I’ve been online. And few have cared. 😦 #sbbuzz
working_arts: Q10 beside email, newsletters (html emails via email services), web and phones, we also use skype, twitter DMs, facebook #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @CASUDI memberhub.com from our very own @mattharrell – a very nice group collaboration tool. We switched from Basecamp for internal #sbbuzz
mattharrell: Anyone feel free to contact me with questions about @memberhub. We’re very excited to be working with @ideaanglers #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @rongraham1 Right, its not just putting stuff out there. There will be plenty of opps for our guides to pitch, and benefit as well. #sbbuzz
desireescales: @rongraham1 Wow, I said the same thing when I read the article. We’re on the same page for once! #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @leoraw I prefer MailChimp. The team there is brilliant with ideas and new features. It’s a joy to use. #sbbuzz
working_arts: @leoraw constant contact – very easy to use 🙂 #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @mattharrell PLEASE put me on your list to learn more #sbbuzz
rongraham1: @desireescales, we’re on the same page? Alert the media! 😉 #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q11 How can we get involved? As guides, as members, as both? #sbbuzz
joemagennis: @leoraw Just moved from ConstantContact to AWeber. Scheduled messages according to signup date, number of posts etc very versatile #sbbuzz
leoraw: @scoblitz @working_arts thanks for responses. Need ideas on what to recommend to clients. One uses Constant Contact now. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @working_arts I receive a number of newsletters w constant contact~ looks lie they do a good job #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q11: right now you can all sign up for our newsletter, to keep up to date with the latest happenings #sbbuzz
mattharrell: @CASUDI Sure thing! I’d love to learn more about your specific needs. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @leoraw MailChimp doesn’t have triggers though, which is big for one of my clients. We use Big Response for that. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: There’s more info under “Are You A Guide” for joining as a guide, and we welcome any and all applications. http://digg.com/u15HZU #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: We are looking for guides from all aspects of business and experience. We want our guides to contribute regularly and be involved. #sbbuzz
leoraw: @bradfordshimp Could use Twitter to research email newsletter clients! @joemagennis mentioned AWeber – u say Big Response #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q11: And even if a full membership isn’t right for you, we will be offering specific mini-courses and eBooks to the General Public! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: We are currently running a beta test of the Collaboration Station. If that sounds interesting to you, contact me directly. #sbbuzz
rongraham1: I’ve been waiting for you guys to elaborate on Collaboration Station. Is it a tool for guides, or something completely different? #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @leoraw Depends on your needs. For usability and most functions, I recommend MailChimp highly. Have used several before that. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp interested in collaboration station #sbbuzz
working_arts: @leoraw vertical response is also easy… they are all pretty much the same. get familiar with their interface and start selling 🙂 #sbbuzz
CristinaKeeA: We are looking for guides from all aspects of business and experience. We want our guides to contribute regularly and be involved. #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @CristinaKeeA I’d like to send you some people to guide 🙂 #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q12 (again breaking @bradfordshimp‘s record) What has been the biggest challenge in collaborating online? #sbbuzz
mriggen: @leoraw I have to add my vote for @mailchimp for usability, ease of use and fun factor. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @sbbuzz Probably its accountability, though we have done a good job of that. It could be easy to let everything rest on 1 person. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q12: The biggest challenge collaborating online has been getting things posted or edited we both need to review. #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: Q12 – Actually, because we write everything down, its kind of nice. In the real world, we have a lot of conversations but no notes. #sbbuzz
nrohrbach: Q12: It’s not like I can run down the hall and stand over Brad until he gives his edits or approval #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @nrohrbach True, Neal has to wait on me all of the time. He’s a bit of a slave-driver. 😉 #sbbuzz
working_arts: Q12 waiting for googlewave! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: So, you have to have certain skills, like patience. And you need to be able to trust one another, because you can’t check in. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: I know the @Batchbook team is big on Google Docs – have you guys tried it at @IdeaAnglers? #sbbuzz
working_arts: Q12 #sbbuzz googledocs does not realy work as advertized, but googlewave promises to deliver. anyone seen the online preso?
nrohrbach: @lindadessau oh yeah, we rock the google doc. Lots of sharing and collaborating there for sure! #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: @lindadessau Yes, we use Google Docs – esp. for forms. Might look more into SmartSheet though, since they are awesome! #sbbuzz
CASUDI: @bradfordshimp …..because you can’t check in. #sbbuzz was why we had 1/month in person meetings in 2000 🙂
bradfordshimp: The more I collaborate online, the more I want to work with people I know (who have companies that can help). #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Cool – hadn’t heard about Google Wave (where have I been?) – just signed up for updates http://snipr.com/qhhbf #sbbuzz
working_arts: Q12 #sbbuzz googlewave presentation: http://bit.ly/13u3Sm <– grab coffee 1st 🙂
nrohrbach: I’ve been playing with Zoho too, always open to new software options #sbbuzz
bradfordshimp: I am unsure about the Wave. Might take me awhile to get on board. #sbbuzz
pmohara: @lindadessau Yes, we’re big Google Docs folks. A weird Firefox upgrade bug broke my Docs for a few days. I got very Googly Moogly. #sbbuzz
mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q12 – I follow three simple rules: Stop, collaborate, and listen. #sbbuzz
1 Comment

Filed under business start-up, small business, summary

One response to “Summary from August 18, 2009: Idea Anglers

  1. Pingback: Websites for Small Biz » Research via Twitter: Email Marketing Services

Leave a Reply

