Nerdfight! Duking it out over PC vs Mac, BBerry vs. iPhone, Outlook vs Gmail : Summary from July 7, 2009

This week’s Nerdfight pitted email, devices and computers brands against each other to see what small businesses are using and why.  Who are the winners?  You be the judge.

(Due to issues with hashtags and Twitter search not pulling all results I used wthashtag’s summary this week, sadly they have tables which do not copy well into WordPress so there are no links to users this week.  I did link all the http:// links so that you are able to follow those out.)

Want to participate or have a small business question that other small biz owners can answer?

  • Next buzz-up is Tuesday, July 21th, 2009 from 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM Eastern Time. Join us – We’re here to facilitate the conversation between small business owners.
  • Know small businesses that need help? Let them know when this chat happens, help them get started on Twitter and let’s talk!
  • Instructions for participating are at http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
  • Below is a summary of the most recent discussion. To see the full conversation, go to: http://bit.ly/1aETpP

sbbuzz: Rules: 1)NO pitching till end 2)Be nice 3)Stay ON TOPIC! 4)Send ?s for group to me w/o hashtag 5)Use #sbbuzz in all messages 6)Have fun!

  • rzazueta: What up #sbbuzz?
  • sbbuzz: To start off we have introductions: 1 message about you and your business and whatever else we need to know.
  • chadosgood: I’m with Premier Logic, an app development and consulting firm in Atlanta. We specialize in healthcare and financial services.
  • provafm: I’m curious how many people are here. Is there any way to look?
  • rzazueta: Rob Z here – web developer TO THE STARS!!!
  • wiseleo: Good evening sbbuzzers
  • rzazueta: Also, I swear I’m not drinking, but I may seem like it tonight. I’m wired a little funny right now.
  • wiseleo: life – SYTYCD is always with you (I was in this season’s show 😉
  • bradfordshimp: Hello all! Looking forward to some heated conversation tonight! I hope the bee has some band-aids, just in case.
  • merylevans: Content maven who plays with words for a living and a mean geek side to her. She owns way too many gadgets. Real ID is @merylkevans
  • rzazueta: NERDFIGHT!!!

sbbuzz: Hmm – seems only a few of my tweets made it through – trying again. Tell us who you are!

  • scoblitz: Scott Blitstein technology go-to guy and opinionated writer / blogger – looking forward to debate tonight!
  • wvpmc: Wendy Van Parys Marketing Communications from CT – can you see my tweets on tweetchat now?
  • bradfordshimp: @wvpmc I see you Wendy. Hello!
  • scoblitz: @wvpmc I see you – but I can’t see me. It would appears Twitter search is overwhelmed right now.
  • rzazueta: Oh no… it looks like #MJ may have caused #hashtagfail for #sbbuzz. Is it wrong to blame the deceased for things beyond their control?
  • life_enthusiast: Putting got my iPod touch charged, and my outlook window on my (dare I say it?!) PC ready to go.
  • helpbusinesses: Hi I’m Jacqueline: Business Pipeline Solutions is a global biz mgmt & professional training firm helping manage run & grow companies
  • BeckyMcCray: Hi, all. Oklahoma small town business owner, cattle rancher, grant writer.
  • provafm: I’m with prova.fm. We make it easy for your business to get a professional quality ad @ a price U pick. July promo: free ad
  • sbbuzz_guest: Uh oh – even the bee got stung by the Twitter hashtag problems. Might have to moderate from this account tonight.
  • perfectquarters: Hi I’m Jacqueline a NYC real estate broker for Perfect Quarters. We are a full service brokerage firm in all 5 boroughs
  • sbbuzz: Hmm, seems this account has the Twitter flu. Not showing up in the #sbbuzz stream. I’ll quickly set up a new one. Hold tight everyone.
  • provafm: If we don’t see our message in tweetchat, does that mean it wasn’t sent?
  • TucsonKent: @perfectquarters Welcome Jacqueline!
  • bradfordshimp: @sbbuzz Now your here, now your not. Is this Twitter hide and seek?
  • rzazueta: @scoblitz probably running on a MAC! HA! Opening salvo!
  • helpbusinesses: @sbbuzz try using hootsuites
  • fiberartisan: blogArtisans – helping local brick and mortars extend the conversation online. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: God, I am so going to get mass unfollowed tonight, I can sense it.
  • life_enthusiast: Oh, intro..um, Marketing Manager 2 elite life changers, life enthusiast, life coach, & entrepreneur w/ social networking addiction.
  • perfectquarters: @TucsonKent Hello Kent how are you? I have some great twitter friends in AZ
  • merylevans: @rzazueta Why not create a separate ID for chats? That’s why I do.

sbbuzz: On to the rumble. We’re tossing up some fierce rivalries & asking you to weigh in pros/cons. Let your passions show!

  • TucsonKent: @perfectquarters Havin’ fun & enjoyin’ some sun – Love NYC when I get there occasionally. Visit us & lunch is on me!
  • wordpost: Andrew Swenson, Dir of MarCom at a small marketing firm
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta Mac dont have such problems. You are misguided.
  • provafm: I’m with prova.fm. We make it easy for your business to get a professional quality ad @ a price U pick.

sbbuzz: Staring off with the biggie – Mac vs. PC. What are you using? Why?

  • merylevans: I’d love to get a Mac, but it’s a luxury purchase. Windows meets more needs for my business. For one thing, I review a lot of apps.
  • fiberartisan: Both. But recently switched back to Mac after a long absence. Thanks to VMWare can run Win7 on my Mac side-by-side
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz PC. I’m actually not anti-Mac, esp. nice OSX is based on BSD, but there’s a time and place for each. PC suits my work best.
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q1: I’m a ThinkPad. I might consider a Mac when I can get one w/ a touchpoint.
  • bradfordshimp: I use a PC. Macs are shiny and useful, I hear, but with the price, no wonder Mac owners are snobs (j/k).
  • perfectquarters: @TucsonKent that sounds like a treat. Check out NY Street Fairs http://bit.ly/Ml7ii video. I treat u to whatever ur stomach can hold
  • wordpost: I use a Mac because it’s faster, because I can work faster on a Mac, and because I enjoy the aesthetic experience
  • vpbx: Longtime Machead over hear. But use PC’s in the office. As a designer/dev/marketer it’s easier be OS-agnostic.
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz But you forgot Linux – BIG fan of Linux on the server, but not the desktop. Windows should NEVER be installed as a server. EVER.
  • wiseleo: I am a PC to the core. More applications that are useful to me. Mac is just another Unix platform.
  • BeckyMcCray: Just ordered two new PC’s this week. 🙂
  • bradfordshimp: @scoblitz I don’t know how you can stand touchpoint, never got the hang of it myself.
  • helpbusinesses: Q1: I use Mac the whole life of my business 17 yrs. Why it has a great plateform, love features no virus
  • rzazueta: @merylevans Not concerned about my total followers, only concerned about my #sbbuzz homies.
  • life_enthusiast: I’m a PC and even though it’s not a safe, it’s what most clients use. Makes communication easier to use same thing.
  • vpbx: That said, my preference is still the Mac. There’s elegance there & I enjoy that. Computing should be a “good” expereince.
  • helpbusinesses: Was that question one? Not sure.
  • provafm: I use a PC. My 1st computer was a mac, but I switched after realizing the universal potential of PC’s. PC’s can do so much more.
  • wvpmc: @rzazueta we are SO here for you!
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses Macs are for wusses who can only use one mouse button at a time. BRING IT! 😛
  • bradfordshimp: When comparing apples to … wait, that analogy doesn’t work – when comparing similar features, my Dell came in MUCH cheaper.
  • vpbx: @merylevans Cost is a myth. Mac-minis areen’t that expensive & they’ve got more punch than you’d think.
  • perfectquarters: I use Mac because I love everything about it never thought of using a PC. I used them at other firms but they have to many problems
  • life_enthusiast: Hubby is considering a Mac for security reasons.
  • pmohara: #sbbuzz Q1 – also on a Thinkpad. I grumble a bit about the speed, but the price and itty bitty size won me over.
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q1: Honestly, I don’t think it really matters much. Just choose one or the other and learn how to use it.
  • rzazueta: @bradfordshimp This is really the big issue I have with Macs – I get the desire to control the hardware, but the cost is so high.
  • chadosgood: We use Mac and PC as we do iPhone development and support for Windows is indirect and limited.
  • VirtualPBXRevs: RT @vpbx: Virtual PBX is taking part in the weekly #sbbuzz tweetchat tonight. Stop by and check it out.: Virtual PBX is taking part in th..
  • merylevans: @BeckyMcCray Hey, I just got two new PCs, too! One desktop and one laptop. Just worked out due for both new ones.
  • VirtualPBXRevs: RT @vpbx: VirtualPBX is in the house for #sbbuzz. We do hosted phone systems, aka virtual pbxs. Great for smb’s. Let the geekery ensue!: ..
  • wvpmc: PC – makes file exchange with clients simpler – hi res pdfs to printers, ad depts eliminated incompatibilty problem
  • perfectquarters: @johnmijac thanks John come join #sbbuzz chat thru tweetgrid.com or tweetchat.com. talking about which computer is better Mac/Pc
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz To be honest, I’m surprised Apple still sells computers. I really think we’ll see them start rebranding them as something else soon.
  • pmohara: Caveat though, I’ll only use machine (and OS and browser) that majority of our users use – so I had no choice.
  • fiberartisan: I think Macs are much more powerful. After all, they’re Unix-based. Built on a much more solid OS. most apps cheaper/easier to use.
  • rzazueta: @scoblitz Don’t really agree – if you’re not computer savvy, you should choose a machine that your peers are most familiar with.
  • life_enthusiast: @rzazueta it’s hardly the old mac anymore from what I understand. They almost have to rebrand.
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz After all, you’ll be relying on them for a LOT of help. If you’re a Mac and they’re all PCs, you’re on your own.
  • wordpost: @wvpmc really? I work in an almost exclusively Mac environment, and we have very few exchange issues.
  • rzazueta: @wvpmc I totally feel the love.
  • vpbx: @sbbuzz Just an FYI, there’s some delay in the #sbbuzz tweets coming through. Twitter still delayed via MJ tweets, possiblly?
  • BeckyMcCray: @RobynMcMaster Have had excellent success with Dells over the past several years. Love to find bargains in the @delloutlet!
  • pmohara: Rest of @batchblue (except QA team) is on Macs. All development done on Macs.
  • life_enthusiast: @pmohara I’m with you. Gotta use what my clients are using. I sometimes have to teach them tricks, can’t teach if I can’t see.
  • scoblitz: @bradfordshimp meant trackpoint – amazing tech, I never have to move my hand away from the keyboard. I haven’t used a mouse in years
  • BeckyMcCray: @merylevans I got a mini!! 😀
  • rzazueta: @life_enthusiast Totally. I expect then to start calling them “Life Lockers” or something instead of computers soon.
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta U R just saying that I understand you don’t want to admit defeat no worries. PC ppl always do that. Ur 1st step
  • rongraham1: You guys aren’t having a Mac v. Windows holy war there, are ya? Bleurgh. LOL
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz. Apple does make some REALLY cool stuff. I do find, though, that I’m frequently left wanting.
  • life_enthusiast: @rzazueta Life Lockers, what a great name…computers do hold our entire lives, don’t that they. Amazing.
  • scoblitz: @rzazueta That is a factor, my point is all other things considered the choice is personal more so than for functional reasons.
  • merylevans: @scoblitz Prefer mouse to pad. Seems pad is more flaky than a mouse. But I understand not moving away from keyboard to mouse.
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz I still don’t own an iPod. As cool as they are, I’m locked to iTunes and am told how I must use the $400 device I bought. No, sir.
  • vpbx: #sbbuzz Q1: Here’s a monkey-wrench. How much less $ would it take for the PC folks to switch over?
  • RobynMcMaster: @BeckyMcCray June 2009 issue of Consumer Reports rates Dell well. I enjoy bargains, too. Thanks for info on @dellout
  • helpbusinesses: I have a PC and all I can do with it is watch DVD or TV online and it chokes. PC stink functionality wise if you ask me.
  • helpbusinesses: RT @vpbx: #sbbuzz Q1: Here’s a monkey-wrench. How much less $ would it take for the PC folks to switch over?
  • wvpmc: @vpbx not so much the hardware – big software re-investment
  • sbbuzz: RT @vpbx: @sbbuzz Just an FYI, there’s some delay in the #sbbuzz tweets coming through. Twitter still delayed via MJ tweets, possibly?
  • bradfordshimp: @scoblitz I can see the appeal. Something that takes getting used to though, I should think. I love the precision of the mouse.
  • helpbusinesses: @vpbx Good question PC user are broke LOL
  • provafm: It wouldn’t take money. It would take ability to perform. My iphone doesn’t do half the stuff my palm treo did – efficiency wise.
  • scoblitz: @merylevans ooh – I hate the pad! But I love the point. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trackpoint
  • life_enthusiast: @NancySeeger just go to a search on Twitter and type in #sbbuzz. Or go to http://www.tweetchat.com and enter it.
  • merylevans: @RobynMcMaster I just bought my laptop with help from @delloutlet. Helped me pick right one and then got a discount. Best deal.
  • provafm: It feels like apple does whatever they want, instead of what customers want. They finally put cut/paste on iphone (no flash tho)
  • life_enthusiast: @vpbx For me it’s not about money. It’s about what I need. Mac doesn’t have all that I need. Too incompatible with clients.
  • merylevans: @scoblitz I hate the eraser more than the pad. It’s hard to control it. Wheeeeeee… there it goes. Whoops, and too far.
  • bradfordshimp: @vpbx $1,000
  • rzazueta: @vpbx Not about money, about flexibility. Though, admittedly, with SAAS and BSD geeks porting stuff to OSX it’s less of an issue.
  • merylevans: @provafm Palm has better software and desktop app for entering data. I do a lot of it on desktop and only some on device.
  • bradfordshimp: But I suspect price is part of Apple’s game. Get people who paid too much for a computer to not complain, claim superiority instead
  • chadosgood: @vpbx The issue is in available apps, not cost. How many EMRs, as one example, are built on Mac?
  • life_enthusiast: @chadosgood Now my geekiness is running thin…what is an “EMR”?
  • mcolacurcio: My work laptop is still a PC, but my home computer is now a MAC. Vista was my switching point.
  • vpbx: @life_enthusiast That’s a great point. If you can’t use the tool to make you the money, what’s the point. #sbbuzz
  • DrFernKazlow: Sorry to be late! #Sbbuzz #Smbiz
  • mcolacurcio:
  • IACEZ: Just joining tonight’s #sbbuzz chat- should be a good debate!
  • RobynMcMaster: @merylevans Thanks for more affirmation about @delloutlet Next time I need computer, I know where I’ll head for a good deal.

sbbuzz: Q2 still on Mac vs PC – how do you rate support? Do you use manufacturer, retailer or 3rd party?

  • dtpxpress: Staring off with the biggie – Mac vs. PC. What are you using? Why? #sbbuzz (via @sbbuzz)
  • merylevans: @RobynMcMaster You might want to subscribe to the Dell email deals — as those take time to start coming in.
  • vpbx: @chadosgood Well, I found these: http://tinyurl.com/nd2u6n YMMV. But it’s not like it’s not there. Plenty of OSS out there. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: Q2: Third party, all the way. Retailer support is non-existent (don;t get me started on the Geek Squad).
  • mcolacurcio: Q2: I think Apple’s support is amazing. They help with apps, hardware and random questions.
  • life_enthusiast: Oooo there’s a question, which brand of PC? Dell, HP, Build up? CompUSA buildup lasted us longer than any other PC.
  • rzazueta: Q2: Manufacturer support is weak at best. Most of my support help comes from Goolg.
  • rzazueta: And, occasionally, Google
  • bradfordshimp: Q2 – I usually just look stuff up on the web. For MAJOR issues I have a local guy I can go to.
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q2 IBM support was always great. My experience w/ Genius Bar w/ clients has been outstanding at times but not always.
  • helpbusinesses: I cannot read Question can someone RT it?
  • sbbuzz: RT myself: Q2 still on Mac vs PC – how do you rate support? Do you use manufacturer, retailer or 3rd party?
  • rzazueta: RT @sbbuzz: Q2 still on Mac vs PC – how do you rate support? Do you use manufacturer, retailer or 3rd party?
  • wiseleo: I am the support person 🙂 Being a Microsoft partner has its perks (such as unlimited free tech support when I need it)
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses My PC could read it. 😛
  • life_enthusiast: I use the manufacturer for my Dell laptop, because I don’t have to pay anything. Our build up desktop, we use independant.
  • rzazueta: @wiseleo Tier 2 support? That’s the problem – most CS depts chintz on the support with outsourced, scripted Tier I
  • wiseleo: Q2 Using MFR support is usually useless, retailer is equally so. Usually clients go to someone like me who actually can fix problems
  • bradfordshimp: It seems like whole chunks of this conversation are being left out on Tweetchat and Tweetdeck.
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz then again, I don’t run a call center, so it’s possible a majority of all calls are still “My drink coaster broke”.
  • merylevans: I just had a long experience with tech support. The first answer was wrong, but I pushed and five emails later, got prob resolved.
  • IACEZ: I have had really good experiences with Microsoft support.
  • helpbusinesses: Q2: I use Apple to fix anything but I never bought a Mac that broke so I find getting there plans to fit things a waste of money
  • helpbusinesses:
  • IACEZ: @bradfordshimp I have noticed the same thing.
  • life_enthusiast: Granted, I do most tech support myself…rarely call someone else.
  • vpbx: #sbbuzz Q2: Few problems with Mac support. Genius Bar helped with my issues nicely, too. Dell, otoh, was as spotty experience.
  • helpbusinesses: Q2: But those who use them get great service in the Apple Stores or online with Apple Care not long hold times the 1 time I called
  • helpbusinesses: Q2: Now my new Dell I bought directly from them has issues & support is so so on it.
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses I always tell my Mac clients to get Apple Care. It’s like insurance – hopefully you’ll never use it, but…
  • mcolacurcio: @bradfordshimp Yes! None of my tweets are showing up.

sbbuzz: Q3: on to personal de-VICES. iPhone or Blackberry? Why?

  • vpbx: #sbbuzz Q2: Microsoft. Some good exp’s. Some very bad. We’ve had 4+ hour conf calls with no resolution.
  • wiseleo: @rzazueta By the time a problem is escalated to me, Tier 3 is useless. I only call MFR support when I need hardware-specific info
  • salbright: Why’s there no Mac support support?
  • rzazueta: @sbbuzz Blackberry because it’s more open than the iPhone.
  • merylevans: If zero tweets are showing up in chat room — go to getsatisfaction.com for Twitter. It’s a known problem for some accounts.
  • rzazueta: @WStong Yeah, but they don’t serve drinks, which REALLY annoys me.
  • vpbx: RT @mcolacurcio: @bradfordshimp Yes! None of my tweets are showing up. – Ditto for me as well. #sbbuzz
  • mcolacurcio: My iPhone went from a ‘cool’ device to a ‘can’t-live-without-it’ when I started using certain apps.
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta I use to buy it but I truly never use the thing so I’ve stopped. Even when I bought a refurished one.
  • scoblitz: @mcolacurcio that one did 😉 Seems twitter search is ailing tonight.
  • bradfordshimp: @sbbuzz Wow, I feel bad. My old Windows Mobile device doesn’t make the cut?? Or my even older Palm?
  • rzazueta: @mcolacurcio Thiws one did. Twitter is being weird.
  • sbbuzz: FYI – Twitter search seems to be more reliable than Tweetdeck for me tonight. #sbbuzz http://bit.ly/3Sjwb6
  • life_enthusiast: Q3 – Ipod touch and Cell phone. You don’t lose everything when one goes wrong…besides AT&T doesn’t work here. 😦
  • helpbusinesses: Q3: I don’t have a PDA & I’ve been asking both users & both sides have pros & cons. I’m leaning toward the iphone of course.
  • helpbusinesses: Q3: I don’t have a PDA & I’ve been asking both users & both sides have pros & cons. I’m leaning toward the iphone of course.
  • merylevans: We have both phones in my household. BB more effective for mail and type faster on real keyboard. iPhone gorgeous screen 4 fun apps
  • life_enthusiast: @bradfordshimp haha I quit using palms after I killed the second screen, otherwise I’d b saying the same thing. 🙂
  • bradfordshimp: But really, I am trying to decide just that question now for my next phone — iPod or Blackberry? Keyboard matters to me.
  • scoblitz: @bradfordshimp I use Windows Mobile – syncs well and I can get my gmail via IMAP. Nice twitter and Opera Mobile
  • merylevans: Still have Palm Tungsten T3, but using desktop not device. Sync with Outlook and BlackBerry. Palm best pers info mgr.
  • wiseleo: Q3. Windows Mobile before iPhone stole the show with full Exchange integration. Now, still on WM but looking to switch.
  • bradfordshimp: @rzazueta Thiws?? Are you sure you aren’t drunk?
  • rzazueta: @bradfordshimp I’m not as think as you drunk I am occifer.
  • merylevans: Sold all my Windows Mobile devices. Only had them for doing articles and reviews. Now focused on BB and iPhone.
  • life_enthusiast: Q3 iPod Touch and Cell phone!! That way when one has issues, u don’t lose it all…besides AT&T doesn’t work here. 😦
  • IACEZ: I would love an iphone but I choose Blackberry because AT&T’s service is no good.
  • helpbusinesses: Q3: I’m primarily going to use my iphone as a ipod and phone second. The email I’m not excite to have access to
  • bradfordshimp: RT @rzazueta: Q3: I think if you’re a Mac person already, an iPhone makes sense. Otherwise… not so much.
  • pmohara: #sbbuzz Q3 I’m Blackberry. Google sync (calendar & gmail) & TinyTwitter rock. Though @adarowskidid show me a sweet iPhone TweetDeck app
  • vpbx: #sbbuzz Q3: iPhones. And lots of ’em over here.
  • helpbusinesses: Q3: thought I must admit I see more business people still using blackberry
  • helpbusinesses: @BeckyMcCray Nice meeting you
  • rzazueta: RT @helpbusinesses: Q3: I’m primarily going to use my iphone as a ipod and phone second. The email I’m not excite to have access to
  • bradfordshimp: My father just got a Blackberry and its pretty cool. But Smartphones are just so BIG. I had one with a slide out keyboard.
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses That’s the iggest diff. btwn the iphone and the BB – I NEED that communication. BB is built for that.
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz I’m still not 100% on board with the convergence between my entertainment and my communications device.
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta understand I just dont want a PDA period but stores R not selling phone that much either now.
  • IACEZ: @dszp Phone service, but I live in the land of no service. 🙂 #sbbuzz Haven’t heard from you in a while! You should join in on #sbbuzz chat!
  • rzazueta: What I REALLY want, though, is an Android OS on a REALLY solid phone. In a year or two, I’m on that!
  • life_enthusiast: 4rd x’s charm? iPod Touch & cell…one goes u still have other. Besides..AT&T doesn’t work here.
  • bradfordshimp: I think a real keyboard of decent size is better than this on screen stuff. That is why I liked my slide out.
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta I don’t want to have immediate access to my email which is why I’m not excited about PDA period
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q3 If I was going to switch I would probably go with Android because of the Google hooks.
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses Ah, that makes sense. But, again, I think most iPhone users are in the same boat.
  • bradfordshimp: Of course, my current phone is a Sony Walkman, which is just fine. But I don’t travel much.
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta Nothing in life is that important to have your face stuck to a electronic device even if you are making money
  • jefferyjames: my iPhone has been the best business tool I ever had. Listening to podcasts while commuting has greatly enhanced my continuing ed.
  • merylevans: Network service depends on where you live. So one company may have lousy service in City G and great service in City K.
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses I do agree, but I do a LOT of communication with email. And the BB lets me stay out of the office if I want.
  • life_enthusiast: I’m not willing to pay for the smart phone cell service when I BARELY use the phone.
  • life_enthusiast: @jefferyjames I’m with you on the podcasts…learn lots and it can travel easy on my iPod Touch.
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta You should be able to stay out of office with a BB or iphone. Life is too short
  • sbbuzz: Sorry #sbbuzz folks. Still some delays and omissions in Twitter. @scoblitz is building a giant hive in SecondLife. We’ll meet there soon. 🙂
  • merylevans: @rzazueta Second that. Because I use BB purely for texting, IM, email, and no phone — it’s the best option for me.
  • helpbusinesses: @life_enthusiast I was leaning toward the ipod touch but might as well get the iphone to cut down on devices I carry
  • helpbusinesses: @merylevans Call me weird but I dislike the constant texting people. I think phone contact is important especially in business.
  • jefferyjames: @life_enthusiast not to mention being at a swim meet with kids chatting
  • life_enthusiast: Am I the only one who doesn’t want to talk and text when I’m away from the house?
  • ImagineGraphics: Q3 I’m worried that if I get either iPhone or BB, I will NEVER be offline and that would not be a balanced life for me and my family.
  • nrohrbach: Better late than never! Q3: iPhone for me, and as @bradfordshimp said, I’m an Apple man, so it fits.
  • bradfordshimp: @nrohrbach Hey, we were just establishing that Apple computers are WAY too expensive…

sbbuzz: Q5: Outlook vs. Gmail? And yes, it’s ok to mention others. Just hard to do my ringside announcer imitation with a long list …

  • helpbusinesses: RT @nrohrbach: Better late than never! Q3: iPhone for me, and as @bradfordshimp said, I’m an Apple man, so it fits.
  • bradfordshimp: RT @rzazueta: @bradfordshimp Laserdisc… get with the times, man.
  • life_enthusiast: When I’m out of the office, I’m out of the office. I don’t want e-mail, phone etc… I want peace and quiet.
  • IACEZ: @helpbusinesses I agree.
  • merylevans: I’m at a disadvantage with podcasts and audio books. I wish I could enjoy them. It’d make my drives more valuable.
  • bradfordshimp: Gmail reinvented email. If you don’t use it, you are missing out. Really, you are. Get with it.
  • merylevans: Q5 Thunderbird and Gmail.
  • helpbusinesses: Q5: Entourage is MACs outlook. I love that feature! Could not live without my Entourage
  • merylevans: @helpbusinesses Erm… I’m deaf and can’t use the phone. So believe me — I’d love to have that kind of contact.
  • helpbusinesses: Q5: I wish Mac had created their email to mimick entourage actually
  • life_enthusiast: @sbbuzz outlook all the way, because I need access to everything when I’m not ONLINE…also it syncs easy.
  • helpbusinesses: Q5: I also believe it’s important for all business owners to have branded email address & Gmail cannot do that.
  • ImagineGraphics: Q4 Gmail for personal and Outlook for business cause it syncs with our Exchange Server. Need to figured out chat in Outlook tho.
  • bradfordshimp: @life_enthusiast Nope, sorry. Gmail is available offline too, next. (Just j/k, I’m not really a jerk, mostly)
  • wiseleo: Q5. Both. I use Gmail as a spam filter 🙂 I am a power user of Outlook if you have specific questions or frustrations.
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q5: GMail when I’m on the road, but Thunderbird for when I’m on my desktop. Piped through GMail, though, for anti-spam.
  • bradfordshimp: @helpbusinesses Nope, sorry. Google apps allows you to brand your email and still use Gmail, next.
  • nrohrbach: Q5: I don’t think you can honestly compare Outlook types with Gmail. You use one or the other for a while and you just won’t go back
  • IACEZ: #sbbuzz Q5- Nothing against Gmail, but I like Outlook.
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Google Apps email is THE BEST THING EVAR!!! Really, you should get it for your domain.
  • helpbusinesses: Q5: I’m wary of businesses still using internet email addresses. Lack of credibility as far as I’m concern.
  • life_enthusiast: @helpbusinesses I’m SO with you on the branding. Outlook makes it easy, especially when you have more than 1 brand.
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz I can’t imagine life without Gmail – am glad to see it finally out of beta 😉
  • lindadessau: @helpbusinesses Sorry I’m late, everyone! Jacqueline, I use my branded email and just forward it to my Gmail browser
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz plus, you get doc sharing, calendar sharing… It’s just awesome.
  • wvpmc: my ISP’s web-based email tied to company website for professional use
  • bradfordshimp: Great, now I’m not showing up, just when I was getting pithy.
  • life_enthusiast: @rzazueta google Apps e-mail? What’s that exactly?
  • scoblitz: @helpbusinesses if you use the Google Domain Apps you get best of both worlds
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta How does Gmail allow you to get a branded email do tell please.
  • ImagineGraphics: @helpbusinesses Branded email addresses can forward to gmail & replies can be set to have “from” that email. not foolproof tho.
  • wvpmc: @rzazueta you can give a domain-based name?
  • bradfordshimp: Gmail does everything. If you are not using, it must be because you just don’t know how good it really is.
  • helpbusinesses: @lindadessau So you do all your responses from your gmail account & not your branded email?
  • chelpixie: I’m still using Gmail versus Gmail apps but am going to be switching over soon.
  • bradfordshimp: @helpbusinesses google.com/a/
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses Go to http://bit.ly/CieU8, sign up, then follow the instructions to repoint DNS.
  • rzazueta: Free for 50 accounts or less. Otherwise, $50/user/year.
  • nrohrbach: @bradfordshimp I’m having issues too, some of mine show up in tweetdeck but not tweetchat
  • chelpixie: I love Gmail. I’ve written so many blog posts on Gmail and how it makes managing my inbox easier.
  • sbbuzz: Don’t forget to send me any questions for the group. Have any hardware/software debates raging in your mind? Let us help.
  • helpbusinesses: RT @bradfordshimp: @helpbusinesses google.com/a/ <What is this you just supplied?>
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz All of my domains are on it now. You wouldn;t even know it. But I sure do.
  • lindadessau: @bradfordshimp I agree – I’m searching now, too – settled on the BB Pearl Flip because it has the biggest keyboard buttons!
  • wiseleo: You can thanks @TechCrunch for bringing Google’s free version of Apps back. It was missing for a while. 🙂
  • bradfordshimp: @helpbusinesses Where you go to set up branded google email and more
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta I’ll look at this later and learn what it is about thanks
  • bradfordshimp: @helpbusinesses When you set up your site it will be google.com/a/yoursite.com
  • chelpixie: Q3: Gotta answer this one. I just switched from iPhone to Blackberry.
  • rzazueta: @wvpmc Yup. My robz at techknowme.com address is served through Google.
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta @bradfordshimp Ah got ya! Thanks much. Learned something new TY
  • scoblitz: @nrohrbach odd – mine are failing equally
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses Let me know if you have questions or anything. I set it up for a lot of my clients.
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses They RAVE about it.
  • helpbusinesses: @bradfordshimp Ah so google name appears on your website URL?
  • bradfordshimp: @helpbusinesses Hit one of us up if you need more help on that.
  • merylevans: Starting to think Twitter is prejudiced against chats. This is happening more and more lately.

sbbuzz: Q6 from @nrohrbach: Quickbooks vs. Freshbooks?

  • helpbusinesses: @bradfordshimp google.com/a/yoursite.com is not really true branding yoursite.com is
  • rzazueta: RT @rzazueta: Q6: Quickbooks, but only because I used to work for Intuit AND my accountant is familiar with it.
  • life_enthusiast: @bradfordshimp educate me plz! I can’t get to gmail without logging in, so how exactly do I get it offline?
  • bradfordshimp: @helpbusinesses No, that is just where YOU go to access the control panel, your email is you@yoursite.com
  • chelpixie: Freshbooks. Nothing else compares. Easy to use, fabulous support, Paypal and Google Checkout linked to invoices. <3<3
  • helpbusinesses: @bradfordshimp not sure I’ll use it if I have to promote google & me at the same time WHY bother I can use my URL w/o google
  • scoblitz: @helpbusinesses the emails will be yoursite.com / that address is portal to your other services like docs, calendar, etc…
  • rzazueta: @helpbusinesses That URL is only for you to access the feautures. You can do mail.yoursite.com/
  • merylevans: Q6 Even though QB took more time to learn; Freshbooks is limited as I had a contractor who used it and it couldnt do what we needed.
  • lindadessau: @sbbuzz Q6 I use both QB and FB – QB for tracking everything for taxes, FB for time tracking, invoicing, and tracking team hours
  • bradfordshimp: If you already have a domain email address, you can use it with Gmail by forwarding and alias, other options too, I think.
  • wvpmc: @merylevans my acct has been missing reply arrow, favorites star and trash can delete form several weeks 😦
  • helpbusinesses: Q6: Quickbooks without a doubt! The reasons would take a bizillion tweets why.
  • life_enthusiast: Freshbooks and MS Money. I need a place to put all my bank accounts and balance, so Money supplements.
  • bradfordshimp: I use and like Quickbooks Online – don’t know that it is the end all and be all, though.
  • helpbusinesses: @bradfordshimp Oh okay got it.
  • rzazueta: @bradfordshimp Yeah, I use that setup for a client who is not totally sold on Google Apps yet. The anti-spam is AWESOME.
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q6 I love @freshbooks but nature of my biz made it cost prohibitive / challenging to manage clients with their plan options.
  • nrohrbach: Q6: I’ve been using Freshbooks for a year, love that I can pull up my account, estimates, invoices on web
  • IACEZ: #sbbuzz Q6- Freshbooks, of course! We integrate with them bcuz we love their application and their culture! 🙂
  • helpbusinesses: Q6: Granted quickbooks is expensive but worth the money to manage your books efficiently hands down.
  • bradfordshimp: @IACEZ Interesting perspective – finding more and more that people are choosing companies based on their culture, etc.
  • pmohara: #sbbuzz Q6: I found Quickbooks overwhelming. Freshbooks much easier in & out for invoicing.
  • life_enthusiast: @sbbuzz my tweets aren’t showing up. Ugh! I use Freshbooks with MS Money…I need to balance bank accounts.
  • PotatoPro: Does Freshbooks support multiple currencies?
  • helpbusinesses: Q6: @IACEZ @nrohrbach Did you start using Freshbooks but to cost reasons?
  • life_enthusiast: @sbbuzz not to mention Freshbooks pulls time from Basecamp…Won’t invoice any other way.
  • curdbee: #sbbuzz Q6: open to other simple and cost-effective alternatives? Such as CurdBee – http://curdbee.com
  • nrohrbach: @pmohara agreed, certainly the best in estimate/invoicing/payment but…. maybe subpar come tax time?
  • lindadessau: @helpbusinesses I respond with my branded email as well. You can set it up to both compose and respond from your choice of accounts
  • bradfordshimp: @pmohara Quickbooks has a lot features that come in handy when you need more than invoicing.
  • mattharrell: Sorry to be missing sbbuzz tonight. I’ll just say Macs rule! Kidding. But not really. :).
  • life_enthusiast: Only thing Freshbooks doesn’t do, that I wish it did, is allow multiple branding for one account.
  • rzazueta: Awesome and fun chat, all! I gotta roll home for an impatient dinner and a hot wife. Or something. Talk to you soon!
  • RobynMcMaster: @merylevans Thanks. Will subscribe to @delloutlet for now. Want to keep email at minimum.
  • lindadessau: Can we go back to Gmail for a second? What will upgrading to a Google Apps account do for me versus my standard account? I
  • IACEZ: @PotatoPro They don’t support multiple currencies in the same acct.
  • bradfordshimp: @lindadessau Allow for branding email – you@yourdomain.com
  • scoblitz: @nrohrbach take a look at outright – their expense management generates great tax forms, and pulls from freshbooks.
  • helpbusinesses: @rzazueta Nice meeting you thanks for your tips
  • ImagineGraphics: Q6 I have never heard of Freshbooks before. We use an industry specific POS software & QB. Will reccomend FrBk to small or new bizs
  • bradfordshimp: RT @bradfordshimp: @lindadessau Allow for branding email – you@yourdomain.com
  • IACEZ: @PotatoPro As a workaround though you can open different accts for each currency you are using.
  • scoblitz: @lindadessau The biggest change is branded email to match your domain
  • helpbusinesses: @scoblitz thank you for your tweets. I’m just seeing them. Will check out google apps
  • curdbee: @PotatoPro if you need an invoicing app with multiple currencies in same account, give a try on CurdBee – http://curdbee.com
  • pmohara: @nrohrbach Haven’t been through a tax season w/them, but I know their integrations (ie Outright.com & maybe IACEZ) help w/that.
  • VirtualPBXRevs: RT @vpbx: #sbbuzz Q1: Here’s a monkey-wrench. How much less $ would it take for the PC folks to switch over?: #sbbuzz Q1: Here’s a monk..
  • VirtualPBXRevs: RT @vpbx: #sbbuzz Q2: Few problems with Mac support. Genius Bar helped with my issues nicely, too. Dell, otoh, was as spotty experience. ..
  • VirtualPBXRevs: RT @vpbx: #sbbuzz Q2: Microsoft. Some good exp’s. Some very bad. We’ve had 4+ hour conf calls with no resolution. #sbbuzz: #sbbuzz Q2: Mi..
  • VirtualPBXRevs: RT @vpbx: #sbbuzz Q3: iPhones. And lots of ’em over here.: #sbbuzz Q3: iPhones. And lots of ’em over here.
  • lindadessau: RT @lindadessau: @bradfordshimp But if I’m already accessing my branded email from my Gmail account, is it worth switching?
  • IACEZ: @helpbusinesses I’m sorry- not sure I understand your question.
  • adarowski: @sbbuzz @freshbooks makes tasks that I hate to do totally fun. Invoicing, time tracking, etc. A remarkable app.
  • PotatoPro: @IACEZ Thanks for the insight! Looks interesting. We operate 100% in the cloud, just fighting with a stand alone quickbooks version
  • life_enthusiast: @pmohara Waiting for Outright to have integration with paypal and then I’ll be there.
  • bradfordshimp: @lindadessau I don’t think so. There are some other back end benefits, but that is the main one. I would keep it as is.
  • helpbusinesses: @merylevans Ah did not know that, that make sense texting for deaf
  • merylevans: @helpbusinesses Yep. That’s how I stay in touch with my family. Then the email covers the business aspect.
  • lindadessau: @bradfordshimp I’m all for keeping things simple and leaving things as they are!! Thanks.
  • IACEZ: @pmohara Yep, sure will! 😉
  • bradfordshimp: RT @adarowski: @sbbuzz @freshbooks makes tasks that I hate to do totally fun. Invoicing, time tracking, etc. A remarkable app.
  • helpbusinesses: @merylevans That totally makes awesome sense never thought of that solving communication for something like that

sbbuzz: Q7: Desktop vs. the cloud (web based applications). When should you use what?

  • lindadessau: I love when FB tells me I rick (when I log some work time)
  • bradfordshimp: RT @sbbuzz: Q7: Desktop vs. the cloud (web based applications). When should you use what?
  • lindadessau: RT @lindadessau: I love when FB tells me I rick (when I log some work time) #sbbuzz (LOL, that would be ROCK!!)
  • IACEZ: @PotatoPro You’re welcome! We’re in the cloud too. 🙂 We integrate with Freshbooks, so let me know if you have any other questions!
  • helpbusinesses: Q6: @IACEZ @nrohrbach Did you start using Freshbooks because of cost of software?
  • wiseleo: Q7. My life is in the cloud. I can rebuild my PC at any moment and get all my data instantly.
  • chelpixie: Q6 one of the best parts about Freshbooks is tracking my hours from my Dashboard widget. Makes it very easy for me.
  • bradfordshimp: Q7 – I spend more and more time in the cloud. Not just cloud nine either.
  • helpbusinesses: @merylevans Technology is awesome that way
  • helpbusinesses: Q6: A lot of users seem to like this freshbook over quickbooks, I’m surprised. WOW.
  • life_enthusiast: @chelpixie Fave part abt @Freshbooks (besides time transfer fr Basecamp) is automatic marking of invoices paid 4 me.
  • life_enthusiast: @helpbusinesses I’ve never tried Quickbooks. Too expensive, not willing to pay for it each year.
  • sbbuzz: Hmm, guess I need to speak LOUDER: Q7: Desktop vs. the cloud (web based applications). When should you use what?
  • scoblitz: @lindadessau rick-roll or rock-roll – works either way
  • salbright: @helpbusinesses me too
  • IACEZ: @helpbusinesses Oh, gotcha- the price was right, but ease of use was a very big factor. And their support team rocks!
  • lindadessau: @scoblitz It’s still rick and roll to me!
  • helpbusinesses: @life_enthusiast You don’t have to buy updates every year. I recommend 2/3 yrs to my clients.
  • merylevans: @life_enthusiast No one says you must upgrade QB every year. I prefer one flat fee for software to paying monthly on end.
  • helpbusinesses: @life_enthusiast I started using quickbooks when FB was not around so. Maybe thats why I like it.
  • nrohrbach: Q7: I like clouds, but always make sure I’m comfortable with their backup options both on their end and mine
  • pmohara: RT @sbbuzz Hmm, guess I need to speak LOUDER: Q7: Desktop vs. the cloud (web based applications). When should you use what?
  • lindadessau: @sbbuzz Q7 Moving more & more to web-based applications & loving it! Experimenting this week w/creating all new docs in Google Docs
  • life_enthusiast: @merylevans @helpbusiness I didn’t know that…but still sticking with Freshbooks because it imports time from Basecamp.
  • chelpixie: RT @sbbuzz since it’s not showing up in twitterchat: Q7: Desktop vs. the cloud (web based applications). When should you use what?
  • helpbusinesses: @IACEZ Good to know TY
  • chelpixie: Q7 I can’t seem to use desktop apps anymore. Definitely a cloud person, access from anywhere on any computer FTW.
  • helpbusinesses: @salbright @helpbusinesses me too #sbbuzz <glad I’m not alone on that one LOL>
  • IACEZ: @helpbusinesses YW! 🙂
  • scoblitz: @pmohara Q7: I am almost entirely web based at this point. One of the main reasons that the PC/Mac debate is a non-issue for me.
  • life_enthusiast: @sbbuzz It’s the cloud for me on most things. I have a team that works with me, if it’s not in the cloud, they can’t do it.
  • helpbusinesses: Q7: You should use desktop apps when you have a PC. Keeps them from breaking down & getting viruses
  • mcolacurcio: 90% web-based for me. Still use MS Word. Not sure that I’ll ever be able to fully separate from the Office Suite
  • nrohrbach: @chelpixie and I love tracking hours from my @freshbooks iphone app 🙂
  • helpbusinesses: @scoblitz That’s impressive you are all web based apps what do you use? I think it does matter on your computer don’t u?
  • life_enthusiast: @mcolacurcio Oh yeah, I’m totally desktop on document/presentation creation. Also, on e-mail … for now.
  • IACEZ: @mcolacurcio Same here! 🙂
  • life_enthusiast: If I go completely into online apps all the way around, then I can get netbook, which is WAY cheaper.
  • helpbusinesses: Q7: I personally use whatever based on what I am doing. My Mac can handle anything.
  • pmohara: #sbbuzz Q7 agree – Office apps and Tweetdeck are my only desktops. Everything else is in the cloud and proud. 🙂
  • scoblitz: @pmohara I still do a lot of data manipulation work in MS Access – that’s the one Office App I still use regularly

sbbuzz: Q8 might be a bad night to ask this, but Twitter vs Facebook vs LinkedIn?

  • salbright: Thanks all, the QB vs FB was good info, still not convinced on IPhone vs BB
  • zebugroup: Except for OpenOffice, we are mostly web-based
  • bradfordshimp: Mostly in the cloud. Need better doc, spreadsheet, etc. options in the cloud. Function is fine, but form needs more work.
  • perfectquarters: Q7: A lot of applications for real estate are web based so I guess I’m mainly web based. Except for MS office stuff and accounting
  • bradfordshimp: RT @sbbuzz: Q8 might be a bad night to ask this, but Twitter vs Facebook vs LinkedIn?
  • scoblitz: @helpbusinesses breaking down? I don’t understand. I don’t have any issues with web apps on my PC.
  • life_enthusiast: @lindadessau I just find I can make things “prettier” with office apps than I can w/ google docs
  • perfectquarters: Q6: I use quickbooks btw. sorry I’m just getting back in the game. Twitter is slow.
  • chelpixie: RT Q8 might be a bad night to ask this, but Twitter vs Facebook vs LinkedIn?
  • wvpmc: @bradfordshimp use all – for different purposes
  • lindadessau: Q8 Facebook just for personal but hardly ever get in there. I like LinkedIn Q&As for networking but hardly ever get in there, either
  • bradfordshimp: Q8 – Twitter, still. Trying to up my LinkedIn game.
  • life_enthusiast: @sbbuzz um All three?!! I use all three, but really depends on biz objectives and market.
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q8: Twitter for sure, at least in terms of value of interaction and usefulness.
  • cspenn: @chelpixie yes. Hammer or screwdriver or saw? Same question. Right tool for the right job.
  • helpbusinesses: @scoblitz All my PC clients have virus issues so they don’t like to be on internet for that reason.
  • IACEZ: #sbbuzz Q8- I use all three for three different purposes. Twitter is a place to chat with people. FB is a place to post company info…
  • bradfordshimp: Form follows function. Most cloud apps have the function down, some need work on the form.
  • chelpixie: RT @cspenn: @chelpixie yes. Hammer or screwdriver or saw? Same question. Right tool for the right job.
  • IACEZ: #sbbuzz Q8- And I use LinkedIn to connect with other biz people- like I do on Twitter- but in a different way… 🙂
  • helpbusinesses: what is Q8? did not see it.
  • lindadessau: @life_enthusiast True enough that GDocs aren’t always as pretty, but they’re perfect for writing for the web http://snipr.com/mbzap
  • chelpixie: Q8 Don’t really know how to answer that one since they are used for different things. (Ninja has a good answer though!)
  • pmohara: #sbbuzz Q8 Twitter definitely been the best outreach for us (like this chat!). Do have Facebook and Linked accounts, too.
  • bradfordshimp: RT @scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q8: Twitter for sure, at least in terms of value of interaction and usefulness.
  • lindadessau: RT @life_enthusiast: @sbbuzz All three?!! I use all three, but really depends on biz objectives and market. #sbbuzz (says the Queen of SM)
  • BarbaraDuke: RT @bradfordshimp: RT @sbbuzz: Q8 might be a bad night to ask this, but Twitter vs Facebook vs LinkedIn?
  • vpbx: #sbbuzz Q8: Our company utilizes all three. Most used & useful in order: Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook. YMMV.
  • cspenn: Q8 Hammer or screwdriver or saw? Same question. Right tool for the right job.
  • scoblitz: @helpbusinesses How unfortunate – I can’t imagine what they must be doing while online to be so vulnerable.
  • nrohrbach: Twitter all the way. Facebook’s annoying as all getout, and still learning the ropes of LinkedIN
  • chelpixie: @nrohrbach I ran away from my iPhone. 🙂
  • life_enthusiast: @scoblitz @helpbusinesses a lot of pc users don’t research before downloading…reputable apps rarely hv viruses.
2 Comments

Filed under small business, summary, tools

2 responses to “Nerdfight! Duking it out over PC vs Mac, BBerry vs. iPhone, Outlook vs Gmail : Summary from July 7, 2009

  1. Pingback: New Gadgets | Nerdfight! Duking it out over PC vs Mac, BBerry vs. iPhone, Outlook vs Gmail : Summary from July 7, 2009

  2. Pingback: Oklahoma best businesses | Oklahoma Business News

Leave a Reply

