Small Business Innovation: Summary from June 30, 2009

Our guest this week, Saul Kaplan (@skap5) shared his thoughts on small businesses and how they can innovate, innovation models and what role disruption plays in being innovative within your small business.
Our buzzers were buzzing and the chat is swollen with good conversation.  Have a read below.  Thanks Saul for joining us and sharing your perspective on small business innovation!

Want to participate or have a small business question that other small biz owners can answer?

  • Next buzz-up is Tuesday, July 7th, 2009 from 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM Eastern Time. Join us – We’re here to facilitate the conversation between small business owners.
  • Know small businesses that need help? Let them know when this chat happens, help them get started on Twitter and let’s talk!
  • Instructions for participating are at http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
  • Below is a summary of the most recent discussion. To see the full conversation, go to: http://bit.ly/JifOr
sbbuzz: Q1 from @lindadessau for tonight’s sbbuzz chat: How has having patience paid off when growing your small business? #sbbuzz
  • BeckyMcCray: Patience pays off when it takes a dozen years to be an overnight success. You never know when it will come. #sbbuzz
  • rongraham1: On Q1, it… ummm… hasn’t quite paid off yet. But it will. Probably starting middle of next month. LOL #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Q1 – Hmm, sometimes I think I am being too patient (or maybe that is just procrastinating). #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q1: Slow and steady wins the race. I’ve seen my competition burn out and grow too quickly. We learned from that. #sbbuzz
  • toddschnick: @sbbuzz need patience to be disciplined and dedicated to sustained effort #sbbuzz
  • pardiman: Q1 I’m the overnight success (taken almost six years to get there) I originally had a five year plan, and then I was moving on #sbbuzz
  • Whistletree: We often over-estimate what we can do in 1 yr. and under-estimate what we can do in 5. Keeping perspective is key. #sbbuzz
  • rongraham1: @soclmediacoach, sometimes we just have that tendency to grow a lot when we know we can grow a little. I’ve seen that too. #sbbuzz
  • adarowski: @sbbuzz Q1 We’re kind of in a crowded market, so patience was needed to allow the world to see why we’re different and awesome. #sbbuzz
  • mattharrell: Q1: It’s taken a long time to land some customers…but when they came on our product was much better…and ready for them. #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q1 – Waiting until 5 or 6 to crack a beer… Some days that takes a lot of patience! #sbbuzz
  • pardiman: Q1 Now I introduce myself and people say I’ve heard of you. Build the brand one brick at a time. 🙂 #sbbuzz
  • JoGolden: Q1 Perseverence is just as vital as patience and perspective–all 3= a triple threat to the competition #sbbuzz
  • rongraham1: On Q1, those first few customers are really precious, because we want ’em to become our champions. 🙂 #sbbuzz
  • pmohara: Q1 – I liked @mikemcderment‘s #sbbuzz answer that the cover of Entrepreneur mag came from “stringing together 1000 tiny victories”
  • RPamela: Q1 Patience=Results. Only a few are truly overnight successes. Relationships, trust and loyalty take time. #sbbuzz
  • chelpixie: Q1 Patience I think came from hard work. I was too busy to notice I was being patient too. 😉 #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q1: in my case, owning the business outright, without investors, would have been impossible without patience. #sbbuzz
  • merylkevans: Q1 When I left corporate America for full-time freelancing, I had a full load. I worked both jobs for 5 years before switching. #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q1 – on the flip side, I’ve been really glad on a few occasions that I stopped having patience for a bad idea. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: I would add the caveat – patience on the right things – you can be patient but be doing the wrong things and hoping they will work. #sbbuzz
  • Whistletree: Sometimes patience can also turn into overthinking. There is a time to push a little, too. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q1: Patience = sanity. Sadly, the world is not on your schedule. You need to actively push, but you need to demonstrate patience.
  • Timberry: Q1: Great concept from @trunkclubjlv: for startups, don’t wait until all the lights are green. Patience isn’t everything. #sbbuzz
  • wvpmc: Hi everyone – sorry I’m late tonight – Q1 patience essential to weather economic cycles #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q2 How do you know when to hire new people, outsource work or stretch existing resources? #sbbuzz
  • JoGolden: Q2 Hire help before the pillars of the business collapse (yes, that means you!) #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q2 – stretch ’til it hurts, hire for core competencies, outsource everything else #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q2: Look at your biz plan and financials. If you can pay for it and it’s not core to your biz, you should delegate.
  • chelpixie: Q2 Most people wait until they’re overwhelmed before they hire someone to help them, move on this before you feel that way #sbbuzz
  • selahsynergy: @sbbuzz Q2 I create a plan and then balance budget and resource time with project rqmts. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: I think you should hire as soon as you can, in stages – start with sometime consultants, move to outsource, then full time. #sbbuzz
  • merylkevans: Q2 I choose to be a one-person business, so I keep my projects manageable. Sometimes it gets crazy, but I never sacrifice sleep. #sbbuzz
  • chelpixie: Q2 if you have the budget, then go for it. If you don’t, you risk getting frustrated b/c it takes time away from the parts you love #sbbuzz
  • ImagineGraphics: Q2 This decision rides on how optimistic u feel abt the need continuing on into the future. Do you feel comfortable investing? #sbbuzz
  • adarowski: @sbbuzz Q2 I think the hardest part is remembering that you CAN outsource. When we finally did it, it was like a huge weight lifted. #sbbuzz
  • BeckyMcCray: Q2 – Delegating can be tough without the budget to hire, but here are 10 ways to do it: http://bit.ly/delegate (expand) #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q2 is about planning process; not just a plan, but reviewing and managing the plan, reduce uncertainty, work your plan. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: I learned early on to work with people who knew more than I did, experts in their field. I’m a lucky gal to have them all. #sbbuzz
  • rongraham1: Q2 – I believe we will hire when we are otherwise forced to turn away work. What we hire (direct, contract, etc.), well, we’ll see. #sbbuzz
  • selahsynergy: @mattgillooly I agree regarding outsourcing non-core if u can afford it. Elance and VA’s are some of my best friends. #sbbuzz
  • ImagineGraphics: Q2 : we like to hire whenever possible cause then we can control quality and on-time delivery as fully as possible. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q2: and I gotta say, in my early stages I discovered, serendipity, how a few well-chosen people can create growth. Viva leverage. #sbbuzz
  • lindadessau: Q2 Just paid my bookkeeper for June & it was a joy to do it. Happy to let her do what she’s good at so I can do what I’m good at! #sbbuzz
  • Whistletree: Q2 At first it may seem like the place to save $, but hiring good people eventually makes $$$$. #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @selahsynergy – if it’s not your business’s core competency, it *will* be cheaper to outsource than to hire #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: You don’t need to hire full-time in a lot of cases if you contract with and empower other entrepreneurs. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q2: Our company grew by hiring people to free our core group to do what we were best at, spinning off tasks. #sbbuzz
  • MelissaAtBIF: thinking about challenge of hiring when conditions are volatile. trying to be smart but stay bold. easy to get scared and pull back. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q3 Anyone still using printed mail for business correspondence? How and why? #sbbuzz

  • rongraham1: On Q3, some folks want a real live signed letter, signed in black or blue ink. LOL #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q3: I’m sorry, I’m not familiar with that technology. Printed correspondence? #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q3: interesting, I want to see what others say on that one; I hadn’t thought about it, but no, not for anything anymore. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Q3 I’m not sure I understand the question. #sbbuzz
  • merylkevans: Q3 I send a handwritten thank you note to my clients at least once a year. #sbbuzz
  • pardiman: Q3 I still use Send Out Cards for xmas cards, follow ups, and thank yous. #sbbuzz
  • lindadessau: @sbbuzz Q3 I sent out a postcard campaign my 1st 2 years but I haven’t done one yet this year. I think it’s a nice personal touch. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q3: All kidding aside, there’s nothing like a good old-fashioned thank you note sent to a lead or client. #sbbuzz
  • UNnouncer: Q3 Yes, regularly. Precisely because most of my competitors don’t. #sbbuzz
  • wvpmc: Q3 a hand-written thankyou is always appreciated #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Q3 – Mostly invoices – but even doing that more and more via email. #sbbuzz
  • sbbuzz: @soclmediacoach You know, the flat white thing you send through your printer. Your dog used to eat it back when you were in school. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q3: Nope – all digital. But I have a lwayer client who does. Better paper trail, apparently.
  • MelissaAtBIF: We used printed postcard for an event this year. re-thinking for future. it’s expensive, impossible to track. Yet hard to part with #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q3 and I don’t particularly like to get mail, even thank you cards, one of the people I hired for Q2 has to sort it. #sbbuzz
  • selahsynergy: @sbbuzz Q3 Hardly ever. Had to send a contract to a client w/a broken fax. Took me 30 minutes to figure out postage on USPS. #sbbuzz
  • Whistletree: We send handwritten notes and Starbucks gift cards as a thank you to new and top customers. #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – the only postal mail I send are for (a) utility bills and (b) letters to my grandma, @grangee #sbbuzz
  • MelissaAtBIF: have found that personalized letters to high priority targets have an old fashioned appeal…and you can use full sentences. #sbbuzz
  • RPamela: Even though we are in the tech age, we should still take the time to send a personal note via snail mail. #sbbuzz
  • JoGolden: Q3 We sometimes send letters to misbehavin’ folks who need a bit more attention to the agreement at hand.+ thanks and some new year #sbbuzz
  • merylkevans: Q3 I had postcards printed, but never did anything with them. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: @MelissaAtBIF I’ve been tinkering with the idea of postcards, not to mail but to hand out at events for @GetOutBayArea #sbbuzz
  • ImagineGraphics: Q3 Printed letters only for special announcements. Quick postcards for maintaining top of mind awareness. otherwise all electronic. #sbbuzz
  • sbbuzz: @bradfordshimp Q3 clarification – are you printing letters, sending cards, making origami from post-it notes? Why? #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q3: Also been tinkering with sending holiday cards for a non-common holiday. I’m partial to arbor day, for no particular reason.
  • selahsynergy: @sbbuzz Q3 Thank you notes, Holiday cards yes. #sbbuzz
  • UNnouncer: Q3 Plus, used for marketing purposes, emails are just too easy to delete. Postcards may get thrown out, but they’re seen first. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q3 really interesting to me how we polarize on receiving mail. #sbbuzz
  • pmohara: I write notes to all the #sbbuzz guests. Just seems a little more personal to make them decipher my chicken scratch. 🙂
  • lindadessau: Q3 I have a Send Out Cards account but haven’t used it. #sbbuzz
  • pardiman: Q3 I like to send a “Aren’t you glad I didn’t send this at xmas post holiday card. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q4: For a little nostalgia, reviving 1st ever #sbbuzz question: What is the one technology that you can not live without? And why?

  • MelissaAtBIF: i cannot live without web analytics. crucial. #sbbuzz
  • toddschnick: @sbbuzz Q4 the “delete” button #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Q4 Silverware, definitely. #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q4 – definitely my monkey army. or maybe my lightning speed. or maybe my iphone. #sbbuzz
  • selahsynergy: @sbbuzz Q4 Love nostalgia. Love my blackberry. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Q4: Internet – no idea how I lived before it. It’s how I make money, how I met my wife, how I spend free time…
  • Timberry: Q4: I’ll say one thing … it’s not the damned cellphone #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q4: I can’t live without my pen and paper. Where else would I doodle during #sbbuzz ?
  • merylkevans: Q4 The phone. Because I can’t use it and lots of people do, I have one less thing taking up my time. #sbbuzz
  • rongraham1: Q4 – “technology” is much too broad a term. I’m at a toss-up between the Internet and cars. Gotta get around. LOL #sbbuzz
  • UNnouncer: Q4 No question about it…Diaper Genie! #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q4, although, sometimes I love my iPhone … but not when it’s being a phone … #sbbuzz
  • mattharrell: Q4: Interesting question; I’d have to say my mac ;-). #sbbuzz
  • Whistletree: @sbbuzz I could not live without my iPhone. Calls, emails, internet, demos, GPS, Twitter, FB, all on iPhone! #sbbuzz
  • adarowski: @sbbuzz Q4 The Mac OS. I wouldn’t have been interested in computers without it. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q4 I really love the GPS stuff, great gadget, really fun. But then I’ve always loved maps. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q4: I can’t live without technology period. I’m immersed. #sbbuzz
  • pardiman: Q4 Batteries. Nothing seems to work anymore without batteries. #sbbuzz
  • JoGolden: Q4 Lost without my desktop PC, markers and great big pieces of paper to post on the walls! #sbbuzz
  • RPamela: My new Palm Pre #palmpre RT @sbbuzz: Q4: What is the one technology that you can not live without #sbbuzz
  • MelissaAtBIF: Q4: my personal blog. when the day is crap i go there to look at goofy pix of my kid. makes me a better person instantly. #sbbuzz
  • wvpmc: Q4 anything that helps me listen – and anything that helps me edit #sbbuzz
  • pardiman: Q4 And the coffee maker. That seems to be important. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Now we will be directing ?s to @skap5 Everyone feel free to jump in w/thoughts or follow-up ?s (but stay on topic!) #sbbuzz

  • sbbuzz: @skap5 Q5: What’s your definition of “innovation” and does it differ from what’s generally considered? #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Hello all. I have been sampling your conversation. Great talent, insight, and irreverence. Good combo. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Innovation has become a buzzword. No pun intended. I offer a simple definition: Innovation is a better way to deliver value #sbbuzz
  • rongraham1: Invention: an act of creativity that results in a device, process or technique novel enough to change the application of technology. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Innovation needs to be differentiated from invention. It is not an innovation until it delivers value. #sbbuzz
  • sbbuzz: Oops -forgot the intro – Saul Kaplan (@skap5) is the mastermind behind brilliant innovation conference @bif5 He’s wicked smart! #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q5: Innovation is not being afraid to think differently , plow forward anyway and know it will work. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: I think small businesses need innovation to survive. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: We have more technology than we know how to absorb. It is us humans that get in the way of innovation. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Innovation is seeing things as they could be, not as they traditionally are. #sbbuzz
  • RPamela: Innovation to me is figuring out a better way to do anything cheaper, faster, better or just cooler. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @bradfordshimp small businesses have the easiest path to innovation if they think and act big enough. Technology helps. #sbbuzz
  • Whistletree: Q5 Innovation is seeing a problem or need and finding a way to solve it. #sbbuzz
  • selahsynergy: @skap5 Agree! Innovation comes from how the biz uses the technology too. #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – I see innovation as finding new patterns within old data. New patterns lead to new processes… some might even be good! #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @Whistletree Agreed. As Christensen says in his disruptive innovation theory. It is all about doing jobs that need to be done. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: @skap5 I disagree. All of this technology came from a vision within the human mind. Someone had to see it first, then implement. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @soclmediacoach I am glad we have the technology. Now lets use it to solve real world problems. OK to make money along the way. #sbbuzz
  • mattharrell: @skap5 It’s more about human-nature getting in the way. The LOVE of money is the root of all evil. 😉 #sbbuzz
  • JoGolden: innovation = open to the new even while surrounded by the old + sweat equity #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Often innovation is simply recombining existing capabilities in new ways to deliver value or solve a problem. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: @skap5 Ah, now that’s a different story altogether. How can we inspire small biz folks to solve problems with technology? Interestng #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @soclmediacoach Small businesses and entrepreneurs are the catalysts for the disruptive innovation we need to solve big problems #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: @skap5 Q6 from @rzazueta: How does one recognize when to innovate? And, if it’s a big leap, how can we demonstrate its value? #sbbuzz

  • skap5: @soclmediacoach Small businesses and entrepreneurs are the catalysts for the disruptive innovation we need to solve big problems #sbbuzz
  • rongraham1: Q6: the history of innovation suggests there’s (a) a need, (b) a demand, (c) a method, and (d) no cultural taboos stopping it. LOL #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q6 – any time you’re not satisfied, it’s time to look for a better way. make the leap if the rewards are worth the costs #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @lindadessau Exactly. Small business have the clarity to focus and the flexibility to change capabilities to deliver value. #sbbuzz
  • RPamela: Q6 When to innovate? When we hear anyone, usually ourself, say “someone should make a… that does…” #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Always innovate. Try new stuff. Fail fast. Stay passionate about delivering an incredible customer experience. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz flight, heliocentric view of the solar system, everything that came from the enlightenment (physics, calculus, etc.)…
  • leoraw: Q6 some clients let me innovate. Some are fuddy duddy and want things exactly as they want them – and I do it because they pay me. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q6 I think we have to always watch for innovation, as in better ways to do things; it’s part of doing the job well. #sbbuzz
  • bizrighter: Q6 Time to innovate at point of stagnation when growth has leveled off #sbbuzz #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Innovation isn’t a project. It is a commitment to always find a better way to serve your customers. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz So, how do you convince the market that it’s a worthwhile innovation? Especially if they’ve bought in to something else?menjivar: @sbbuzz innovation can be reach by exploring your inner thoughts. http://ecorner.stanford.edu/m#_results_ #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q6 although I will say that I find myself sometimes jumping to the new things as a way to avoid sticking to what has to get done. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Its hard to innovate sometimes when clients are afraid of technology especially when we deliver technology based services. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @rzazueta Design around customer experience. Be a market maker not a share taker. Let your customers co-develop with you. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: @skap5 Q7: How do small businesses inspire staff to share in the vision for innovation? #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q7 – align their interests. if everyone benefits when the company does, then they care more about improving the company #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Q7 – Depends – you could build and hire around the idea of innovation in the first place. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Small businesses should be all about a shared passion to delight customers. Don’t think of your team as staff. #sbbuzz
  • mattharrell: Q7: Sharing the vision shouldn’t be hard if you have the right folks on the bus. That’s the hard part. #sbbuzz
  • JoGolden: Seeking innovation is also a standpoint–it helps to embrace paradox and disruption while suspending disbelief at first #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q7 Well I can say for sure that to drag your feet on technology makes the whole team feel completely uninspired. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Q7 – Give your players a real stake, and get the right people on your team. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q7 you can’t talk innovation and technology while the people work on old machines with constrained RAM and small bandwidth. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q7 in some ways goes back to Q2 … values are critical to who to hire for what … shared values, believable values. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: You could encourage your team members to think outside the box by not creating a box for them in the first place. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Not everyone in the organization has the same innovation role. Must be clear to identify what you expect from each person. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Needing to have all the right technology to innovate – that mentality can stifle innovation.
  • Timberry: @rzazueta oh dear … but at least, if you have to disagree, be glib about it to dull the edge. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz All you really need is an understanding of the problem and the creativity to deliver a better solution.
  • adarowski: @sbbuzz Q7 Make sure the team’s goals are clear, but offer freedom to explore the best ways to achieve those goals. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Technology is the great leveler. It allows small businesses to act like they are big. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @bizrighter Companies mistakenly they can just create an innovation culture and the rest will take care of itself. It won’t. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: @skap5 Q8: You talk about innovative models. How do you apply models to an ever morphing and fast moving small business? #sbbuzz

  • marciamarcia: @skap5 Done right, technology can also make big companies seem small so it’s the people, choosing & using tech that matters most #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Social media is a good example of a platform that can help small businesses play bigger than their fight weight. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q8: Wouldn’t model mean having a mold? I don’t believe in models. I recreate the model every single day as a biz owner. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Q8 you have to keep watching, stay flexible, and be able to move quickly to accommodate change. Planning process, again. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: My favorite flavor of innovation is business model innovation. Creating, delivering, and capturing value in a new way. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Web sites give people the power to seem bigger than they are. It really all starts with your web site and online branding. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Small businesses are always the leaders in exploring and launching innovative new business models. #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q8: The beauty of small biz is that we’re flexible when it comes to making quick decisions and being innovative. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: @skap5 but ugh, why would a small business want to act like a big business … you mean slow, bureaucratic, dull? #sbbuzz
  • soclmediacoach: Q8: Small biz owners don’t need 10 ppl to make a decision and block innovation. #sbbuzz
  • Whistletree: @soclmediacoach So true, I love being light, and quick on our feet. No hoops to jump through when direction decisions are made. #sbbuzz
  • lindadessau: I liked @marciamarcia‘s point that looking big isn’t always the goal – the big companies are striving to be as accessible as we are #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: @soclmediacoach sure, I can not make a decision and block innovation all by myself #sbbuzz
  • JoGolden: Biggest conflict in learning and innovation–unlearning and letting go of what we knew before with grt certainty only moments ago #sbbuzz
  • selahsynergy: @skap5 I agree that SM is a leveller for small biz, especially when the small biz begins w/customer exp, not “shoulds” of “experts” #sbbuzz
  • rongraham1: Q8 – if I hear right, many of you think “innovative models” suggest that innovation is programmable, and oppose the idea. Me too. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @Timberry I mean with confidence and access to technology enabled capabilities small enterprises can compete with the bigs. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: @skap5 yeah, I get that — I also like the idea of big companies acting like small — just being contrarian cuz it’s fun #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @selahsynergy Exhibit A. The conversation we are having tonight and the extended networks we wouldn’t have accessed 5 years ago. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q9 from @mattharrell: Assuming you have something disruptive to begin with, what are keys for startups to ensure it does “disrupt”? #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Even a mediocre strategy consistently applied is better than a series of brilliant strategies never given time to mature. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Q9 – Disruption works best when there is already tumult – or should I say change? #sbbuzz
  • skap5: Key to disruption is looking for non-consumption. Meeting needs that aren’t currently being served and entering there. #sbbuzz
  • skap5: @selahsynergy 5 yrs from now the millennials will be running the show! #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – depends what you’re disrupting. if turning a luxury into a commodity, provide evidence of decent quality at low price #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: @bradfordshimp Or when the natives are ready to revolt. #sbbuzz
  • MelissaAtBIF: @Skap5 oft says the shelf life of a biz model is in rapid decline-not sure mediocre strategy deployed consistently will work anymore #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q9 cont – if turning a service into a product, demonstrate predictably good results with quick turnaround. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: #sbbuzz Sometimes you just need to be the catalyst for disruption.
  • skap5: Leaders are going to have to change their business models 3-4 times over the course of their careers. #sbbuzz
  • rzazueta: @skap5 In some homes, they already are! Kids are WAY more influential to technology than we give them credit for. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: @skap5 Key word there – Leaders. You have to be a leader to do this. #sbbuzz
  • Timberry: Re disruption there’s a great talk by @fredwilson of A VC, at Google, http://bit.ly/11ye58 (expand) for the Youtube URL #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: @sbbuzz – Q9 cont again – if it’s a totally new tech, demonstrate traction and (if possible) evidence of a potential business model #sbbuzz
  • bizrighter: @rzazueta I agree, be the catalyst AND keep the pulse of your clients in view at all times #sbbuzz
4 Comments

Filed under small business, summary, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Small Business Innovation: Summary from June 30, 2009

  1. Pingback: Small Business Innovation: Summary from June 30, 2009 « @sbbuzz « Business Resource

  2. Pingback: Small Business Innovation: Summary from June 30, 2009 « @sbbuzz « Business Resource

  3. Pingback: Small Business Innovation: Summary from June 30, 2009 « @sbbuzz « Small Business

  4. Pingback: Small Business Innovation: Summary from June 30, 2009 « @sbbuzz :miracle home business

Leave a Reply

