Summary from February 24th #sbbuzz

Another fantastic session of #sbbuzz this week.  We ran into a few technical glitches, or I guess I should say Twitter did when our newly elected President threw all of us “imaginative entrepreneurs” for a loop by clogging up the Internet pipes with coverage of his address to Congress.  No problem  Your Economic Recoveriness, we’re a resourceful bunch and were able to hack our chat together.

Reminders:

Summary:

sbbuzz: Q1 from @AndrewNim What has been the biggest investment for your business? with the best perceived or real ROI? #sbbuzz

  • Mr_Data_Guy: In the last few months paying for a web site upgrade. (Some say I paid too much, but you should have seen int before {g}) #sbbuzz
  • mriggen: @sbbuzz Q1 I would say biggest investment = people. ROI is immeasurable if you have a solid team. #sbbuzz
  • nrohrbach: Hardware/Software, new mac and Adobe Creative Suite 4, big price tag, but will pay for itself in months if not weeks #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q1 For me it has been renting a small office rather than work from home. #sbbuzz
  • pattianastasia: Q1: also web site upgrade, moving to MovableType, creating & integrating blog. Has significantly improved search engine placement #sbbuzz
  • smallbiztrends: @sbbuzz My biggest investment for my business has been hiring people. Able to grow my busines faster. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q2 OK, then where do you go to find good people (lawyer, accountant, pr, designer, etc.)? Or to hire new staff? #sbbuzz

  • RoyalSaltMedia: Word of mouth for all professionals. Staff via interview and re interview. #sbbuzz
  • menjivar: @sbbuzz #sbbuzz community colleges and universities can provide interns. They have good programs check with your local colleges.
  • mriggen: @sbbuzz Q2: For staff, we’ve usually had referrals. Though one person we found because of his blog. Another good reason to have one! #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Finding good professional advice may be hard in a rural area – social networking can expand your opportunities. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q4 If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 3 blogs would you hack an RSS for first? @scoblitz only gets 2 replies 🙂 #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q5 from @splashet How do people manage the line between their personal and professional voice on Twitter? #sbbuzz

  • Mr_Data_Guy: Q5 I think you have to take a middle road and do both. Or have two or more twitter accounts #sbbuzz
  • Hockeyskates: @sbbuzz They can be one in the same, I try to moderate both types of content pple like getting a sense for who’s behind the curtain #sbbuzz
  • pattianastasia: Q5: I am my business. What you see is what you get. #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: I think you can’t be too transparent. Let people know who you are as a person. Hopefully your company reflects its already. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q6 from @adarowski – is there still a need to legitimize home business (address, voicemail, etc)? How do you do it? #sbbuzz

  • chelpixie: Q6: I tend not to professionalize my voicemail/address/phone conversations but the open door encourage great comms. #sbbuzz
  • smallbiztrends: @sbbuzz Re Q6: Get a good virtual switchboard and voicemail service such as Ring Central — that helps professionalize #sbbuzz
  • RoyalSaltMedia: We are no longer home based but I think there needs to be a level professionalism I would separate all business from personal. #sbbuzz
  • pattianastasia: Q6: my biz is also all about relationships. Biz phone is cell phone. Personal callers get my business voicemail. #sbbuzz
  • mmcallen: Q6 its all about relationships and good work. where you plant your butt should not matter these days #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: re: Q6: there’s a need to be more context sensitive about biz legitmacy. Home dentistry shouldn’t be on the same field as home IT #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Q7 from @smallbiztrends What Web-based software services do people use in their businesses? #sbbuzz

  • chelpixie: Q7: Lemme see. Batchblue, Freshbooks, Hubspot…I’m not a big fan of “planners” like Backpack or Basecamp #sbbuzz
  • bradfordshimp: Q7 – Quickbooks Online, Highrise, Basecamp, Google, Big Response (as many as I can!) #sbbuzz
  • Mr_Data_Guy: Q7: If you are talking about online apps like GMail, I do not. (Yet) do not have the trust level with them. #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: Q7: We us a bunch, but I basically live in Gmail, PBWiki and Batchbook. #sbbuzz
  • mcolacurcio: Q7: For project collaboration, Smartsheet.com. Integrated w/ Amazon’s Mechanical Turk so you can access virtual workers for tasks. #sbbuzz
  • jonfollett: #sbbuzz Q7: We’re using Basecamp, Gmail, Google Docs, and Sugar CRM
  • mskalyn: @sbbuzz I use ringcentral, dimdim, constant contact, phone.com, grandcentral for my business #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q7 – Gmail and Gcal, BatchBook for CRM and Toodledo for task management. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q8 from @pattianastasia What tools do you use to manage Tweets? I’m following only 60 people and I’m having trouble keeping up. #sbbuzz

sbbuzz: Good clarification on Q8 from @jrochelle : do people see “managing tweets” as critical to your business? #sbbuzz

  • Mr_Data_Guy: Q8a Not yet but maybe in the future I will. (I am a new user) #sbbuzz
  • mattgillooly: Q8 clarification – w/ no management, you’re either missing opportunities to build relationships or sifting through a lot of noise. #sbbuzz
  • pattianastasia: managing tweets is critical to my sanity, therefore critical to my business #sbbuzz
  • scoblitz: @sbbuzz I think if you are providing support via Twitter it is important to keep up – people expect it #sbbuzz
Leave a comment

Filed under summary

Leave a Reply

