Open Format DIscussion: Chat Summary from 9/14/2010

Open mic night on sbbuzz. Our participants asked their own small business questions.

  • We’re on every Tuesday from 8-9 pm EST.  The next chat will be held on September 21, 2010.
  • You can read the instructions on how to participate here: http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
  • Invite others to join in, help them get started.  We started this chat to facilitate conversation between small biz owners.
sbbuzz: Welcome to #sbbuzz, a Tweetchat for the next hour of small biz talking technology on Twitter. Join us! http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
sbbuzz: Rules: 1)NO pitching till end 2)Be nice 3)Stay ON TOPIC! 4)Send ?s for group to me w/o hashtag 5)Use #sbbuzz in all messages 6)Have fun!
sbbuzz: Start off w/an INTRO: 1 message about you and your business and whatever else we need to know. #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: Hi. I?m a web designr/developr @chaostoclarity. I show small biz & freelancers how 2 take advantage of the web. #chaostoclarity #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Hi – I’m Scott and I work on the @batchblue Customer Experience Team. I also blog about tech and music at various places. #sbbuzz
stellel: Hi, I’m Christelle… Another @batchblue staffer. Looking forward to the open mic format this evening! #sbbuzz
pmohara: Hi folks. It’s the same me it is every week. Intimate crowd tonight. Will make the karaoke portion more fun. :D #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Tonight is open mic night at #sbbuzz, so anyone can ask a question of the crowd.
sbbuzz: I’ll start us off with one from the archives – QUESTION: Where do you typically hear about new tech services and solutions? #sbbuzz
My_WebEvent: This is Steph with @My_WebEvent! Sorry I’m late! #sbbuzz
mentormarketing: I consume Mashable for new SM tools, it is my goto source. #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: A1: mainly blogs. mashable.com is a great one. #sbbuzz
stellel: I often hear about new things on the twitters… :) #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: @mentormarketing Great minds think alike. I also like lifehacker.com #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q1) Twitter, PR folks, and of course @webworkerdaily ;-) #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q1: I hear about the latest tech from the folks in my offuice. But I work with mostly geeks. #sbbuzz
stellel: Oh, and @scoblitz, of course… ;) #sbbuzz
pmohara: For blogs – @webworkerdaily, @techcrunch and @thesmallbusinessweb #sbbuzz
pmohara: What she said RT @stellel: Oh, and @scoblitz, of course… ;) #sbbuzz
My_WebEvent: @mentormarketing Good Evening! Nice to see you here! #sbbuzz
mentormarketing: @My_WebEvent Evening Steph how has the summer and the rebranding gone? #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Since no one is stepping up to the #sbbuzz mic, I am handing it over to @scoblitz Scott, any questions/thoughts for the crowd?
Zimana_: @smallbiztrends and @RamonRay are my first two sources, followed by @Mashable for social media #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz thanks so much for that ;-) #sbbuzz
stellel: @scoblitz Well, you are our go-to guy… ;) #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz One of my challenges right now is sheer volume of incoming messages. Even with gmail filtering I spend too much time there. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: RT @scoblitz: @sbbuzz One of my challenges right now is sheer volume of incoming messages. Even with gmail filtering I spend too much time there. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz So my question is how do you manage incoming information overload? #sbbuzz
mentormarketing: I don’t I drown, sink to the bottom, and them push up for a breathe RT @scoblitz: Info Overload #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: A2: I’ve started using gmail’s priority inbox. It helps some. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @TraceyHolinka me too – I think it will help a lot but I need to trust it first to know that I’m not missing important items. #sbbuzz
pmohara: #sbbuzz I recently got to inbox 50 & now won’t go to bed at night unless below that. I’m 2 days into this policy, so we’ll see if it lasts.
pmohara: @scoblitz @tracyholinka yes, I’m scared to try it. That’s what motivated me to do it manually, though #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @pmohara 2 days is good – they say it takes either 21, 23 or 30 days to make a habit (you know, depending on who you ask) #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: Another problem is multiple email accounts & multiple people monitoring them. I need a Hootsuite for email. #sbbuzz
Zimana_: @scoblitz @sbbuzz I use email to help confirm conversations — following threads reinforces follow up with people #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Anyone else with a topic they’d like discussed? If not, I’m going RIcky Lake again and pulling someone out of their seat. :) #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: @scoblitz Well at least we can switch back to a regular inbox. #sbbuzz
stellel: Pick me! Pick me! #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: Yeah, pick @stellel #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @TraceyHolinka For shared email something like Mailroom might be a good option – http://www.sproutit.com/ #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: @stellel Microphone flying through the air into your talented hands – hit it Lady C! :) #sbbuzz
stellel: I was reading this http://bit.ly/buk5Oi and I wonder how people handle being virtual or working outside of the office? Tips? #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: @scoblitz Thanks. Mailroom looks promising. #sbbuzz
Zimana_: @sbbuzz A question I have is to what degree data security impacted your sales or client relationships #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: RT @stellel: I was reading this http://bit.ly/buk5Oi and I wonder how people handle being virtual or working outside of the office? Tips? #sbbuzz
My_WebEvent: @stellel Our service was built for people to be able to meet virtually, collaborate, interact & not pay a fortune! We use us! #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: I’m one of those that prefer my home office w/ my Mac Pro. Until I get an iPad (I really need one @JoGolden) that’s where I’ll be. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz It’s a challenge – I’m going to start going in to the office a few days a week I think. #sbbuzz
My_WebEvent: @TraceyHolinka MacBook Pro anywhere is perfect! LOL #sbbuzz
pmohara: I found working entirely virtually too hard. Flexible time is a necessity, but I need the non-verbal communication, too. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q3) We use Skype a lot which helps. So much happens in those spare moments you aren’t privy too though. #sbbuzz
pmohara: Great question, though. Maybe more video would help? Or more people tweeting from the water cooler? #sbbuzz
pmohara: Have to check out @my_webevent, too! :) #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Final question – RT @Zimana_: @sbbuzz A question I have is to what degree data security impacted your sales or client relationships #sbbuzz
My_WebEvent: @pmohara Thanks! #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @TraceyHolinka I usually work from the home office but sometimes I can’t get myself there and just stay at home on the couch. #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Q4(or 5…) Data security is important. I think being clear and honest with your policy is key. #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: @scoblitz I do some of my best thinking on the couch. I have a PC laptop that I’m not so found of but I use it. #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q5 I agree w/scoblitz that data security is important & esp if you’re working with client data. Check your vendor’s policies! #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Thanks for trying out the new format tonight, folks. It is now Pitch Time. Please tell us a little about your business. #sbbuzz
TraceyHolinka: @chaostoclarity helps small biz & freelancers use social networking/media & the Web to grow their biz #chaostoclarity #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: If you’d like a once-a-week e-mail reminder of #sbbuzz (including the topic) sign up at http://sbbuzz.net #sbbuzz
My_WebEvent: We provide Audio/Video Broadcasting, Desktop Share, Webinar, Affiliate Program, more! Check us out! http://www.MyWebEvent.com #sbbuzz
pmohara: Thanks all! Pamela here from @batchblue @traceyholinka – sorry we ran out of time for your solo! :) #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: #sbbuzz is a small business Twitter chat hosted each Tuesday night 8-9 PM ET by the folks from @batchblue Come again soon!
My_WebEvent: Nice chatting with you all! #sbbuzz
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Thanks everyone – nice chat tonight! #sbbuzz
1 Comment

Filed under small business, summary

One response to “Open Format DIscussion: Chat Summary from 9/14/2010

  1. Thanks for the links. For the one man band kind of business it is often invigorating just to see that many other people are going through the same kinds of things and how they deal with it.

Leave a Reply

