Tools for Managing Small Business Admin. Summary from April 27, 2010

This week’s chat covered small business resources for payroll, hr administration, office management.

  • We’re on every Tuesday from 8-9 pm EST.  The next chat will be held on March 30, 2010.
  • You can read the instructions on how to participate here: http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
  • Invite others to join in, help them get started.  We started this chat to facilitate conversation between small biz owners.
sbbuzz: Welcome to #sbbuzz, a Tweetchat for the next hour of small biz talking technology on Twitter. Join us! http://sbbuzz.biz/instructions
sbbuzz: Rules: 1)NO pitching till end 2)Be nice 3)Stay ON TOPIC! 4)Send ?s for group to me w/o hashtag 5)Use #sbbuzz in all messages 6)Have fun!
sbbuzz: Start off w/an INTRO: 1 message about you and your business and whatever else we need to know. #sbbuzz
lindadessau: Hi bee, thanks for hosting, hey everyone, I’m glad to be here! I help coaches write better content http://snipr.com/t1pw5 (intro for #sbbuzz
pmohara: Hi all! Pamela here from @batchblue and the host of #sbbuzz Let me know if you have any special requests of the DJ tonight
wvpmc: Hi bees – missed you all lately (Tues meetings) – Wendy from CT, I’ve been doing integrated marcom for >2 decades #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz Jody here a cpa
scoblitz: @sbbuzz Hi everyone – Scott Blitstein, Customer Experience with @batchblue, blogger, sr. procrastinator of lawn moving operations #sbbuzz
beanie72: Hey this is Adam, Blogging, twitter are my main focus #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Tonight’s topic is small biz tools for the admin side of business management. Send me ?s you want discussed with the group #sbbuzz
stellel: Hi twitter friends! Christelle here, Customer Experience with @batchblue. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q1 Do you manage your own payroll? What services/tools do you use? #sbbuzz
foodiegrl: Hi there! Liz J. again from @VR4SmallBiz – in addition to email marketing, I do our BtoB campaigns and BusDev outreach #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz Of course I do! I’m a cpa but I use saas software!
TheBottomRock: A small candle company, selling on @etsy, starting craft shows and hoping to expand #sbbuzz
pmohara: Gee, I was wondering that same thing on Twitter today and here it is the topic of tonight’s chat #sbbuzz #coincidenceor not
pmohara: Some suggestions I got: ADP, Netsuite, Intuit Payroll, Trinet, Administaff ANyone have experience w/these? #sbbuzz
finstoryteller: Joining #sbbuzz for a little while – Evening all!
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz Intuit Online Payroll is the best/ FKA Paycycle. ADP and Administaff will charge you an arm and a leg.
scoblitz: @pmohara I reviewed Intuit Payroll back when it was PayCycle and it looked very good. #sbbuzz
pmohara: @JodyPadarCPA Interesting. Our CPA doesn’t do this. I’d been outsourcing to a payroll service, but too many egregious mistakes #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz Intuit online Payroll is great for Small business. As a CPA I can resell it but a lot of people can do it fine on their own.
sbbuzz: Q2 Do you provide staff benefits? Do you use a service to manage that? Any good online tools? #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz. People with more complicated payroll need help but if all you have is an IRA or health insurance you can do it yourself
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz CPA’s in general are scared of payroll. Because most are not tech savy and don’t know the SAAS solutions that are out their
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz I have a handful of hr consultant who I refer out. We can do simple plan (401k) in house.
stellel: The CPA we use for my husband’s business does payroll. #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz for me it the connection to my client that payroll brings…i am communicating with them all the time…
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz better relationship payroll provides because of the constant interaction. Makes my clients “sticky”
pmohara: @JodyPadarCPA I’ll have to follow up with you to hear more – thanks for the info! #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q3 What part of your business operations do you outsource? What do you do yourself? #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz amazes me how many small business don’t
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz I just recently started outsourcing my technical writing. It’s so much better
lindadessau: @JodyPadarCPA Funny, I was just going to say how I outsource my bookkeeping! #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @JodyPadarCPA (In case you don’t know me, the reason that’s funny is that I’m a content writer/editor) #sbbuzz
pmohara: Q3 We outsource legal, accounting, payroll & use virtual assistant for travel arrangements. #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: @lindaedessau Love it you are a Ghostwriter! too funny. #sbbuzz
beanie72: Bookeeping at the moment #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz @lindaedesau Everybody thinks they can write. boy are they wrong. It’s amazing what a professional does. Who Knew?
pmohara: @beanie72 oh yes, and bookkeeping. Tough one to let go. I SO enjoyed doing it myself. :) #sbbuzz
lindadessau: @JodyPadarCPA So true, so true. And my books would still be a mess if I hadn’t called in a pro. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q4 Do you use a virtual assistant? What do you use them for? #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz Bookkeeping a good one to let go. Then it will get done. We don’t do any bookkeeping in my firm except my own. I make referals out
gregelwell: @sbbuzz I’m looking at doing strategic and generalist roles while outsourcing specialty functions. #sbbuzz
djbookkeeper: Better to join late than never! Just a suggestion:there are less expensive solutions for payroll than ADP. #sbbuzz
beanie72: @pmohara I had a Bernard form Black books type of system!! It had to be outsourced!!! LOL #sbbuzz
pmohara: We’ve used our virtual assistant for travel arrangements, event planning, writing, editing – she’s an @chelpixie of all trades #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz Who has a hard time letting go of anything?
wvpmc: @JodyPadarCPA raises her hand :-) #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: Q5 What operations tool or service has been the best timesaver for you? #sbbuzz
djbookkeeper: I’m very appreciative of Mozy, Dropbox, gotoassist and my dual monitors! They are all great time-savers. #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz For us it’s using gotomeeting or hosted solutions. We use portals for tax returns and document exchanges…
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz Portals are great in theory but not every client is ready to use one.
AlaiaWilliams: @sbbuzz A5: I love Toodledo for keeping track of tasks. RescueTime helps me keep on track in terms of how I’m spending my time #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: @djbookkeeper Dropbox seems to come up frequently. What do you use it for? #sbbuzz
pmohara: @djbookkeeper Oops – everyone once in a while I forget to take off the bee mask. THat was me asking. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: And now it is what we affectionately call Pitch Time. Please tell us a little about your business. #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: If you’d like a once-a-week e-mail reminder of #sbbuzz (including the topic) sign up at http://sbbuzz.net #sbbuzz
djbookkeeper: I use dropbox w/ some clients that have Quick Books & are uneasy w/ remote access. Easier than emailing files back and forth. #sbbuzz
JodyPadarCPA: #sbbuzz I’m CPA. We do Tax and QB consulting and Payroll. Would like to be your full service accounting solution. http://ow.ly/1DWKJ
sbbuzz: Thanks to everyone for joining in. A small but resourceful group tonight! We’ll get the #sbbuzz summary posted soon at http://sbbuzz.biz
lindadessau: Free readability checklist that is guaranteed to improve your writing http://snipr.com/mbys9 (my pitch on #sbbuzz
sbbuzz: #sbbuzz is a small business Twitter chat hosted each Tuesday night by the folks from @batchblue Come again soon!
lindadessau: @sbbuzz Thanks for hosting, thanks everyone! See you next time :) #sbbuzz
djbookkeeper: I have By the Numbers Bookkeeping. I love to clean up messes by small business owners! Quick Books ProAdvisor #sbbuzz
pmohara: Pamela here from #sbbuzz host @batchblue We’re hiring RoR developers – help us spread the word! http://batchblue.com/jobs/
pmohara: @djbookkeeper Good to know. I used to man our QuickBooks, but unfortunately developed an allergy. :) #sbbuzz
pmohara: Thanks everyone for the great advice tonight! Nice to focus on the admin side sometimes. #sbbuzz
wvpmc: Pitch: posting good articles on marketing and soc med from around the web at http://www.wvpmc.com/facebook.php #sbbuzz
Leave a comment

Filed under small business, summary, tools, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

